2018 Unibet Premier League Lineup Confirmed

2018 Unibet Premier League Lineup Confirmed

Barry Hearn and the Professional Darts Corporation have finally confirmed the awaited 2018 Unibet Premier League lineup and there are a few shock selections.

Rob Cross will make his Premier League debut this year after an outstanding opening year on the PDC circuit. Cross won his first £250 on the tour in February before going on to win four Players Championship events, make the final of two European Tour events and reach the final of the European Championship. ‘Voltage’ was then crowned World Champion at the Alexandra Palace beating Phil Taylor 7-2 in the final.

Daryl Gurney will also deservedly make his debut after winning his PDC event and going on to lift the World Grand Prix in Dublin.

Michael Van Gerwen will be as expected back in the Premier League after lifting the World Series Finals, Players Championship Finals, European Championship, The Masters and the Premier League.

Peter Wright will be looking to win the Premier League this year after failing to convert seven darts at double 8 as he lost the title to Michael Van Gerwen. Wright lifted the UK Open last year and will be looking to double his tv title tally.

Gary Anderson will appear in the Premier League once again despite failing to win any PDC major in 2017. Anderson made the final of both The Masters and World Series Finals loosing to Michael Van Gerwen in both.

Raymond Van Barneveld will make the Rotterdam Ahoy Arena turn orange once again after edging into one of the Premier League spots. Barney didn’t win one event in 2017 and only reached the final of one event in Perth.

Mensur Suljovic will make his Premier League debut on February 1st after winning the Champions League in Cardiff and his first Players Championship title. The Austrian turnt down a place in 2017 due to family reasons but will appear in the unique event this year.

Simon Whitlock was handed a spot in the Premier League after winning multiple UK Open qualifying events in Wigan and reaching the final of the World Grand Prix in Dublin loosing out to Daryl Gurney. Whitlock was a finalist in this competition back in 2012 loosing out to Phil Taylor.

Gerywn Price claimed his maiden Premier League place after reaching the final of the UK Open in Minehead. Price won no events in 2017 but claimed two PDC titles in 2016.

Michael Smith is the biggest suprise selection for a lot of people. The former World Youth Champion didn’t have the greatest 2017 but did win the Gibraltar Darts masters on the European Tour.

The 2018 Unibet Premier League will begin on February 1st and go on until the 14th May, where it will conclude with the play offs at the O2 in London. The tournament will be shown live on Sky Sports.

Photo courtesy of Lawrence Lustig and the PDC.

2018 Unibet Premier League Dates & Venues

Night One – February 1
3Arena Dublin
Tickets via http://www.ticketmaster.ie and 0818 719 300 (ROI) or 0844 847 2455 (UK & NI)

Night Two – February 8
Motorpoint Arena Cardiff
Tickets via http://www.motorpointarenacardiff.co.uk and 029 2022 4488

Night Three – February 15
Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
Tickets via http://www.eventim.co.uk and 0844 493 6666

Night Four – February 22
Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin
TICKET SALES DELAYED – Priority Sale period TBC
Ticket information TBC

Night Five – March 1
Westpoint Arena, Exeter
Tickets via http://www.ticketzone.co.uk and 08444 99 99 55

Night Six – March 8
First Direct Arena, Leeds
Tickets via http://www.eventim.co.uk and 0844 248 1585

Night Seven – March 15
Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham
Tickets via http://www.motorpointarenanottingham.com and 0843 373 3000

Night Eight – March 22
The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
Tickets via http://www.thessehydro.com and 0844 395 4000

Night Nine – March 29
The SSE Arena, Belfast
Tickets via http://www.ssearenabelfast.com and 028 9073 9074
Tickets priced at £45/£39 and £25.50 including booking fee

Night Ten – April 5
Echo Arena, Liverpool
Tickets via http://www.echoarena.co.uk and 0844 8000 400

Night 11 – April 12
The FlyDSA Arena, Sheffield
Tickets via http://www.flydsaarena.co.uk and 0114 256 5656

Night 12 – April 19
Rotterdam Ahoy
Tickets via http://www.ticketmaster.nl and 0900 300 1250 (Netherlands, 60 cpm) or 0031 88 123 24 25 (Outside Netherlands)

Night 13 – April 26
The Manchester Arena
Tickets via http://www.eventim.co.uk and 0844 847 8000

Night 14 – May 3
Arena Birmingham
Tickets via http://www.theticketfactory.com and 0844 33 88 222

Night 15 – May 10
The BHGE Arena, Aberdeen
Tickets via http://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/AECC and 08444 77 9000

Play-Offs – May 17
The O2, London
Tickets via http://www.axs.com and 0844 856 0202

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in

Comment (2)

  1. I think its a great field I really do think Micheal smith deserves his opportunity he has been it it before and it is another great addition. I would have loved to see Kyle anderson in the field he is much bettter than gerwyn price and Simon whitlock and he one the auckland masters last year and was very unlucky not to be in the worlds


Darts Planet TV