Baggish bags World Championship return after dominating CDC American Series

Danny Baggish will return to Alexandra Palace in December after booking his World Darts Championship spot through the CDC American Series.

Baggish, who made his World Championship debut last December, claimed three titles in Indiana on his way to topping the overall Order of Merit.

The reigning North American champion produced a series of scintillating showings from the off in Indianapolis, averaging in excess of the 92 mark in each of his five matches on his way to winning Event One.

Andrew Bennett, Larry Butler, Gary Mawson and Darin Young were all swept aside by Baggish, before the Floridian survived match darts against Chuck Puleo in the final.

He subsequently continued his fantastic form into the second tournament, overcoming Young once again as well as Joe Chaney, Joe Beecroft and Randy van Deursen to reach his second successive final.

Baggish would then come through another deciding leg tussle, as he edged past Danny Lauby with a superb 100 checkout in the all-important leg.

The 37-year-old endured a quarter-final exit in Sunday’s opener at the hands of eventual winner Young, before returning to winning ways with his third title of a wonderful weekend.

Baggish completed the hat-trick with a 6-0 win over former UK Open finalist Gary Mawson in the Event Four final, registering an impressive 95.97 for the tournament.

Elsewhere, American veteran Young came through three deciding leg thrillers from the Event Three quarter-finals onwards to add to his ever-growing title haul.

Young survived match darts against a resilient Baggish, prior to denying both Butler and Puleo respectively en route to sealing his World Cup of Darts return.

‘Big Daddy’ will represent his country for the tenth consecutive year at the World Cup of Darts in Austria in November, alongside two-time American Series event finalist Puleo.


Saturday October 3
Event One

Darin Young 6-4 Joe Beecroft
Danny Baggish 6-1 Gary Mawson
Chuck Puleo 6-5 DJ Sayre
Jason Brandon 6-2 Chris White

Danny Baggish 6-2 Darin Young
Chuck Puleo 6-1 Jason Brandon

Danny Baggish 6-5 Chuck Puleo

Event Two

Danny Baggish 6-0 Joe Beecroft
Joe Chaney 6-5 Larry Butler
DJ Sayre 6-5 Chuck Puleo
Danny Lauby 6-2 George Daniels

Danny Baggish 6-2 Joe Chaney
Danny Lauby 6-5 DJ Sayre

Danny Baggish 6-5 Danny Lauby

Sunday October 4
Event Three

Darin Young 6-5 Danny Baggish
Larry Butler 6-1 Joe Chaney
Chuck Puleo 6-2 Chris White
Danny Lauby 6-5 DJ Sayre

Darin Young 6-5 Larry Butler
Chuck Puleo 6-5 Danny Lauby

Darin Young 6-5 Chuck Puleo

Event Four

Darin Young 6-5 Joe Chaney
Gary Mawson 6-4 Larry Butler
Danny Baggish 6-1 Chuck Puleo
Danny Lauby 6-3 David Blalock

Gary Mawson 6-4 Darin Young
Danny Baggish 6-3 Danny Lauby

Danny Baggish 6-0 Gary Mawson

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV