BDO World Championship Schedule Announced

Yesterday saw the BDO announce the schedule of play for the 2020 World Championships, to be held at IndigO2 in London for the first time.

With no defending champion of the men’s event following three time winner, Glen Durrant’s move to the PDC, it’s eleventh seed, Mario Vandenbogaerde that kicks the tournament off on the afternoon of Saturday 4th January.

The Belgian takes on Sebastian Seyer in his opening match. Arguably, two ladies’ matches are the highlights of the opening day, as Fallon Sherrock meets Corrinne Hammond in the afternoon, and ten time World Champion, Trina Gulliver will play the newcomer taking the circuit by storm in Beau Greaves.

Recent World Master, John O’Shea enters the fray on Sunday night against Andreas Harrysson of Sweden, and the winner will play top seed, Wesley Harms on the Monday evening.

On the same evening, tie of the round in the men’s draw sees two time winner Scott Waites and three time champ, Martin Adams collide.

Tuesday’s evening session will arguably be the best, with 2015 winner, Scott Mitchell meeting the current Youth World Champion in teenage sensation, Leighton “Boom Boom” Bennett. Ladies’ top seed Lisa Ashton also begins her campaign against Paul Jacklin on the same night.

BDO World Championship 2020 Order of Play 

Saturday 4th January Afternoon Session – 13:00 UK Time

Mario Vandenbogaerde (11) v Sebastian Seyer

Justin Thompson v Scott Williams

Fallon Sherrock (4) v Corrine Hammond

Dave Parletti (4) v Chris Landman

Evening Session – 19:00 UK Time

Darren Herewini v Simon Stainton

Beau Greaves (6) v Trina Gulliver MBE

Thibault Tricole v Ross Montgomery

Jim Williams (2) v Gary Stone

Sunday 5th January Afternoon Session – 13:00 UK Time

Wayne Warren (5) v Thompson/Williams

Joe Chaney v Ben Hazel

Aileen de Graaf (3) v Kirsty Hutchinson

Willem Mandigers (8) v Michael Unterbuchner

Evening Session

Andreas Harrysson v John O’Shea

Deta Hedman (5) v Laura Turner

Paul Hogan v Brian Raman

Martijn Kleermaker (7) v Gino Vos

Monday 6th January Afternoon Session – 13:00 UK Time

Gabriel Pascaru v Justin Hood

David Cameron v Nick Fulwell

Wesley Harms (1) v Harrysson/O’Shea

Evening Session

Andy Hamilton (12) v Herewini/Stainton

Mikuru Suzuki (2) v Maria O’Brien

Scott Waites (16) v Martin Adams

Adam Smith-Neale (10) v Hogan/Raman

Tuesday 7th January Afternoon Session – 13:00 UK Time

David Evans (14) v Cameron/Fulwell

Nick Kenny (6) v Dennie Olde Kalter

Anastasia Dobromyslova (7) v Sharon Prins

Richard Veenstra (3) v Pascaru/Hood

Evening Session

Gary Robson (13) v Chaney/Hazel

Lisa Ashton (1) v Paula Jacklin

Scott Mitchell (9) v Leighton Bennett

Ryan Hogarth (15) v Tricole/Montgomery

Wednesday 8th January Afternoon Session – 13:00 UK Time

Lorraine Winstanley (8) v Casey Gallagher

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV