Beaton, Hughes and De Sousa come through Gibraltar Darts Trophy qualifier

Steve Beaton, Jamie Hughes and Chris Dobey were amongst the 18 players who came through the UK qualifier for the Gibraltar Darts Trophy yesterday. Jeffrey de Zwaan, Jose de Sousa and Dimitri Van den Bergh were some of the names to come through the European qualifier, with De Sousa pinning a 9 darter. 

Steve Beaton comfortably came through the final European Tour qualifier of 2019, only dropping 3 legs as he saw off Scott Baker and Justin Smith. Hughes, the Czech Darts Open champion, was also fairly comfortable, seeing off Adam Hunt 6-4 in the decider. Tony Newell and Paul Rowley upset the odds to qualify for their first European Tour events of 2019, seeing off seasoned pros Simon Whitlock and Mervyn King in their final games. Ryan Joyce averaged a monstrous 109.1 in his 6-1 win over Brendan Dolan, while Willie O’Connor and Chris Dobey also averaged over a ton in their final matches. Matt Clark was in fine form, pinning a 9 darter in the 8th leg against Reece Robinson, winning out 6-5 to qualify. Robert Thornton, Kirk Shepherd and Ryan Meikle all came through deciding legs, while Darren Webster, Keegan Brown and Steve West will also appear in Gibraltar.

Jose de Sousa fired in a 9 dart leg en route to coming through the European qualifier, but the big news was that Raymond Van Barneveld will not be at the European Championships, as he was beaten 6-5 by Rowby-John Rodriguez. De Sousa continued his Players Championship winning form on Friday, seeing off Jose Justicia and Christian Kist, before defeating Gabriel Clemens 6-5 in the decider, coming from 5-1 down to win. Jeffrey de Zwaan and Dimitri Van den Bergh will join the Portuguese star in Gibraltar, seeing off Ron Meulenkamp and Geert Nentjes respectively. Darius Labanauskas averaged 100 as he defeated Dirk Van Duijvenbode 6-2, while Kim Huybrechts and Danny Noppert completed the line up, beating Max Hopp and Rowby-John Rodriguez. 

UK Qualifier

Final Round results:

Jamie Hughes 6-4 Adam Hunt

Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Ricky Evans

Steve Beaton 6-2 Justin Smith

Chris Dobey 6-5 Kyle McKinstry

Carl Wilkinson 6-3 Arron Monk

Keegan Brown 6-4 Luke Woodhouse

Matt Clark 6-5 Reece Robinson

Paul Rowley 6-4 Mervyn King

Tony Newell 6-5 Simon Whitlock

William O’Connor 6-1 Mark Wilson

Justin Pipe 6-4 Matthew Edgar

Darren Webster 6-2 Adrian Gray

Ryan Joyce 6-1 Brendan Dolan

Scott Taylor 6-4 Harry Ward

Ryan Meikle 6-5 Ross Smith

Robert Thornton 6-5 James Wilson

Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Mark Webster

Steve West 6-3 Mark McGeeney

European Tour Card Holder Qualifier
Final Round results:

Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-1 Ron Meulenkamp

Danny Noppert 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Max Hopp

Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Geert Nentjes

Jose De Sousa 6-5 Gabriel Clemens 

About The Author

Irish-Darts-Fan Irish Darts page, covering all aspects of darts throughout the nation. I write for Darts Planet TV & High Roller Radio. Been published in the Examiner.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV