Campbell secures World Championship spot as four different CDC Canadian Series winners are crowned

Matt Campbell will make his World Darts Championship return in December after winning the CDC Canadian Series in Woodstock, Ontario.

Four different winners were crowned across the weekend, but Campbell secured his second successive Alexandra Palace appearance after topping the Order of Merit.

The three-time CDC event winner reached the final of three of the four events that took place in his home province, winning Sunday’s opener with a 6-3 victory over Shawn Burt.

Former Syracuse Open champion Campbell defeated three-time world champion John Part beforehand and recorded a 95.6 average in overcoming David Cameron.

Campbell will also make his debut in November’s World Cup of Darts in Austria, partnering current professional tour card holder Jeff Smith in the unique tournament.

Meanwhile, Burt, Cameron and Jim Long also claimed Canadian Series titles throughout the duration of the weekend.

Surprise package Burt defeated Shawn Brenneman, Kiley Edmunds, former World Championship qualifier Long and Cameron to claim his maiden CDC title.

Both Cameron and Long overcame Campbell in their respective finals to add to their growing title hauls.

The CDC travels across the border and resumes this weekend with the American Series in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Continental Cup winner Danny Lauby has already qualified for December’s World Championship, and the American Series winner will join him in London.


Saturday September 26
Event One

Jim Long 6-1 Keifer Durham
Shawn Burt 6-3 Kiley Edmunds
David Cameron 6-3 Matt Campbell
John Part 6-4 Justin Fawcett

Shawn Burt 6-0 Jim Long
David Cameron 6-5 John Part

Shawn Burt 6-3 David Cameron

Event Two

David Cameron 6-4 Jim Long
Kiley Edmunds 6-2 Shawn Burt
Matt Campbell 6-4 Justin Fawcett
John Part 6-4 Dave Richardson

David Cameron 6-1 Kiley Edmunds
Matt Campbell 6-1 John Part

David Cameron 6-5 Matt Campbell

Sunday September 27
Event Three

Shawn Burt 6-1 Jim Long
Shawn Brenneman 6-5 Tanner Picard
Matt Campbell 6-4 David Cameron
John Part 6-2 Justin Fawcett

Shawn Burt 6-3 Shawn Brenneman
Matt Campbell 6-5 John Part

Matt Campbell 6-3 Shawn Burt

Event Four

Matt Campbell 6-2 Tanner Picard
David Cameron 6-1 Kiley Edmunds
Jim Long 6-1 Keifer Durham
Dave Richardson 6-2 John Part

Matt Campbell 6-3 David Cameron
Jim Long 6-5 Dave Richardson

Jim Long 6-3 Matt Campbell

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV