CDC Championship League launches featuring Butler and Mawson

North America’s Championship Darts Corporation have launched an inaugural remotely contested Championship League amid the coronavirus outbreak.

The CDC season was scheduled to commence in March, however, due to concerns of the increasing spread of the virus, the opening two weekends, held in Ontario and Chicago, were postponed.

Acting as a route to the William Hill World Darts Championship in December, the CDC Tour is now planned to get underway in July, providing North American throwers with a path to the sport’s showpiece staging.

In the meantime, the Championship League will be played out live from the comfort of players’ homes in two leagues featuring the very best from both America and Canada.

The tournament will run from April 6-May 28 and initially be made up of a seven-week league phase in a best of 14 legs format, with a draw being possible.

Four elite competitors from both the American and the Canadian divisions will then break away to form an eight-player knockout round – which will then be contested to discover the eventual champion.

The inaugural World Matchplay champion Larry Butler and former UK Open finalist Gary Mawson are amongst those competing in the American side of proceedings.

Reigning CDC Matchplay champion Danny Lauby also lines up in the American league, while Joe Chaney, Jeremiah Millar, Chuck Puleo and Nick Linberg finalise the field.

Meanwhile, former World Championship qualifiers Jim Long, Matt Campbell and Ross Snook feature in the Canadian division, being joined by 2016 World Masters quarter-finalist Kiley Edmunds, Keifer Durham, Shawn Brenneman and Kerry Way.

Live scoring and match statistics will be available through the DartConnect system, with two weekly matches being streamed, bringing you inside the homes of the North American’s elite throwers.

The CDC Championship League commences on Monday, April 6 with matches between Larry Butler and Danny Lauby and Matt Campbell and Kerry Way getting proceedings underway.


Week One

Monday April 5 – Thursday April 9

Danny Lauby v Larry Butler

Matt Campbell v Kerry Way

Jeremiah Millar v Nick Linberg

Jim Long v Shawn Brenneman

Joe Chaney v Gary Mawson

Keifer Durham v Kiley Edmunds

Best of 14 legs

Week Two

Monday April 13 – Thursday April 16

Nick Linberg v Chuck Puleo

Jim Long v Kiley Edmunds

Keifer Durham v Ross Snook

Danny Lauby v Gary Mawson

Larry Butler v Jeremiah Millar

Shawn Brenneman v Kerry Way

Best of 14 legs

Week Three

Monday April 20 – Thursday April 23

Nick Linberg v Joe Chaney

Matt Campbell v Keifer Durham

Gary Mawson v Larry Butler

Kiley Edmunds v Ross Snook

Jeremiah Millar v Chuck Puleo

Jim Long v Kerry Way

Best of 14 legs

Week Four

Monday April 27 – Thursday April 30

Larry Butler v Chuck Puleo

Shawn Brenneman v Keifer Durham

Matt Campbell v Kiley Edmunds

Joe Chaney v Jeremiah Millar

Danny Lauby v Nick Linberg

Jim Long v Ross Snook

Best of 14 legs

Week Five

Monday May 4 – Thursday May 7

Jeremiah Millar v Danny Lauby

Kerry Way v Keifer Durham

Chuck Puleo v Joe Chaney

Shawn Brenneman v Kiley Edmunds

Nick Linberg v Gary Mawson

Matt Campbell v Ross Snook

Best of 14 legs

Week Six

Monday May 11 – Thursday May 14

Jeremiah Millar v Gary Mawson

Shawn Brenneman v Ross Snook

Matt Campbell v Jim Long

Danny Lauby v Chuck Puleo

Larry Butler v Joe Chaney

Kiley Edmunds v Kerry Way

Best of 14 legs

Week Seven

Monday May 18 – Thursday May 21

Joe Chaney v Danny Lauby

Ross Snook v Kerry Way

Nick Linberg v Larry Butler

Jim Long v Keifer Durham

Chuck Puleo v Gary Mawson

Shawn Brenneman v Matt Campbell

Best of 14 legs

The league phase will then be followed by the knockout stages from Monday May 25 – Thursday May 28

(Photography: Reuters / Action Images / Matthew Childs)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV