Cullen and Atkins claim titles on day two

Jason Cullen and Martin Atkins both took their maiden PDC event win on Sunday in Wigan at Challenge Tour 3 and 4.

Atkins took the title in the first event of the day beating Michael Barnard in the final at the Robin Park Leisure Centre.

The 43-year-old switched over from the BDO just a week ago attending Qualifying School before claiming his first title in his hometown of Wigan.

David Pallett, Rhys Griffin and Lee Budgen all took Atkins the distance before the Wigan-based thrower whitewashed David Edwards 5-2.

Former UK Open finalist Colin Osbourne was next to suffer defeat to Atkins, falling 5-2 before defeating Ricky Edwards and Jason Lowe to reach the final.

Atkins would meet Saturday’s second event finalist Michael Barnard. Atkins edged past Barnard to claim his first PDC title at third attempt.

Tony O’Shea, a former Lakeside finalist, defeated some fantastic players on a brilliant run to the semi-finals including the likes of Diogo Portela and former World Championship semi-finalist Andy Jenkins.

2017 Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay finalist, Jason Cullen was victorious in the second event of the day as he saw off Scottish Open champion Cameron Menzies in the final.

Cullen claimed £2,000 courtesy of his tournament win and started off his campaign with a 5-3 win over ‘The Pieman’ Andy Smith.

Leon Bailey was second to be defeated before Cullen overcame Kevin Dowling before whitewashing Matt Padgett. Wins over Ryan Murray, Stuart Kellett and Yordi Meeuwisse put the Irishman into the final, where he’d face Cameron Menzies.

It was a dramatic final in Wigan with the game going all the way to the deciding leg. Menzies was sat waiting on double before Cullen took out an outstanding 114 outshot to claim victory at the Robin Park Leisure Centre.

The PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour will return near the end of March at Arena MK in Milton Keynes, where another £10,000 in prize money will be on offer.

Challenge Tour

Event Three
Last 16

Matt Padgett 5-2 Jeff Smith
Jason Lowe 5-3 Cameron Menzies
Martin Atkins 5-2 Colin Osborne
Ricky Williams 5-2 Brian Woods
Tony O’Shea 5-4 Andy Jenkins
Diogo Portela 5-1 Callum Loose
Michael Barnard 5-2 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Martin Lukeman 5-4 Robert Rickwood


Jason Lowe 5-0 Matt Padgett
Martin Atkins 5-3 Ricky Williams
Tony O’Shea 5-2 Diogo Portela
Michael Barnard 5-2 Martin Lukeman

Martin Atkins 5-2 Jason Lowe
Michael Barnard 5-3 Tony O’Shea

Martin Atkins 5-4 Michael Barnard

Event Four
Last 16

Jason Cullen 5-3 Ryan Murray
Stuart Kellett 5-4 Mark Walsh
Peter Mitchell 5-4 Thomas Lovely
Yordi Meeuwisse 5-1 Mark Frost
Colin Osborne 5-3 Dave Prins
Steven Kirkby 5-3 Bryn Suckley
Cameron Menzies 5-3 Jarred Cole
Rhys Griffin 5-2 Lee Evans

Jason Cullen 5-2 Stuart Kellett
Yordi Meeuwisse 5-2 Peter Mitchell
Steven Kirkby 5-2 Colin Osborne
Cameron Menzies 5-3 Rhys Griffin

Jason Cullen 5-3 Yordi Meeuwisse
Cameron Menzies 5-1 Steven Kirkby

Jason Cullen 5-4 Cameron Menzies

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV