De Zwaan among 5 to secure double qualification in Hildesheim

Jeffrey de Zwaan, Jamie Hughes and John Henderson were amongst 5 players who enjoyed a double qualification in Hildesheim this evening. The European and UK qualifiers for Euro Tour events in Mannheim and Riesa took place on Friday, with big names such as Michael Smith and Simon Whitlock partaking. 

Jeffrey de Zwaan came through both qualifiers with ease, not dropping more than 3 legs in any match. He saw off Zoran Lerchbacher and Jose de Sousa to qualify for Euro Tour 11, before defeating Mike Van Duivenbode and Niels Zonnevels to qualify for the event in Riesa. He will be joined in Mannheim by Dirk Van Duijvenbode, Maik Kuivenhoven, Kim Huybrechts, Gabriel Clemens and Max Hopp, who defeated Raymond Van Barneveld in the decider. Dimitri van den Bergh and Danny Noppert led the charge in the Euro Tour 12 qualifier, being joined by Benito van de Pas, Davy Van Baelen and Jelle Klaasen, while Van Barneveld went out limply to Tytus Kanik. 

Jamie Hughes, Willie O’Connor, John Henderson and Brett Claydon all secured double qualifications for both events in the UK and Ireland qualifier. Michael Smith, Simon Whitlock and Steve Lennon all qualified for the event in Mannheim, with Lennon averaging over a ton in beating David Pallett and James Wilson. Ryan Joyce also averaged over the 100 mark in qualifying, while O’Connor whitewashed Conan Whitehead with a huge 110 average. 

Justin Pipe, Steve West and Kyle Anderson all came through the second qualifier of the day to book their spot in Riesa this September. Pipe defeated Wayne Jones with a 100 average, while West and Anderson saw off Matthew Edgar and Carl Wilkinson respectively. Luke Woodhouse averaged a superb 108  in defeating Mark Wilson 6-1 to qualify, while Brett Claydon secured a surprise double qualification with a 6-4 win over Simon Stevenson. The action continues in Hildesheim over the weekend, with Players Championships 21 & 22 taking place. 

European Darts Matchplay (ET11) qualifiers:

Dirk van Duijvenbode

Jeffrey de Zwaan

Maik Kuivenhoven

Max Hopp

Kim Huybrechts

Gabriel Clemens

Michael Smith

Simon Stevenson

Simon Whitlock

Mark McGeeney

Jamie Hughes

Ryan Meikle

Scott Taylor

John Henderson

Keegan Brown

Ryan Joyce

Steve Lennon

Robert Thornton

Bradley Brooks

Ross Smith

Brett Clayton

Matthew Edgar

Wayne Jones

International Darts Open (ET12) qualifiers:

Davy van Baelen

Jeffrey de Zwaan

Danny Noppert

Benito van de Pas

Dimitri Van den Bergh

Jelle Klaasen

Reece Robinson

Brett Claydon

Jamie Hughes

Adam Hunt

Joe Murnan

John Henderson

James Richardson

Ritchie Edhouse

Luke Woodhouse

Kyle Anderson

Arron Monk

Mickey Mansell

William O’Connor

Steve West

Justin Pipe

Harry Ward

Richard North

Andy Boulton

About The Author

Irish-Darts-Fan Irish Darts page, covering all aspects of darts throughout the nation. I write for Darts Planet TV & High Roller Radio. Been published in the Examiner.

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ +