Dennis Watt defends his Icelandic Crown

Dennis Watt claimed the Winmau Iceland Open for the second time in a row. Last year, Dennis Watt became the new Iceland Open champion, after a 7-5 victory in the final against Gudjon Hauksson. This year, he proved too strong once again in a field with 43 players.

Watt started off his campaign in a group with five players. He didn’t lose a single leg in his group. Óskar Freyr Pétursson, Alex Máni Pétursson, Björn Steinar Brynjólfsson and Loftur Ingi Sveinsson were all beaten 3-0 and he scored a group average of 84.68.

After the group stage, they continued to play in the knockout stage. Watt easily beat Friðrik Jakobsen (3-0) in the last 32, before meeting countryman Leonard Clouston in the last 16. Clouston was the first player to take a leg from Watt; it eventually became a 3-1 victory for the defending champion.

In the quarterfinals, Sveinn Skörri Höskuldsson was the opponent, who surprisingly beat Pétur Guðmundsson in the last 16. Watt had no trouble with him and didn’t grant him a leg, winning 5-0.

In the semi-finals, the number three seeded, Hallgrimur Egilsson, was the opponent – who also reached the semi-final last year. With an average of exactly 86, he beat ‘Halli Egils’ 6-1 and reached his second final in succession.

14-year-old, Alex Máni Pétursson, surprisingly reached his first big final in his extremely short career. On his way to the final, he defeated Rúnar Arnason (3-0), Rudolf Einarsson (4-1), Garðar Magnússon (5-0) and the number four seeded, Joseph Doroon (6-4).

In the final, both men felt the nerves and as a result, the level of the final dropped. Both men threw a 180, while Watt also had a 110 checkout. The Scotsman took the first six legs of the final. In the seventh leg, Pétursson took his first leg of the final on double four. Watt finished 20 for back-to-back titles in Iceland and now remains unbeaten on Icelandic soil.

All winners of the Iceland Open during the Easter weekend:
Winmau Iceland Open Blind Pairs: Vitor Charrua/Óskar Freyr Pétursson
Winmau Iceland Open Men Singles: Dennis Watt
Winmau Iceland Open Women Singles: Petrea Friðriksdóttir
Winmau Iceland Open Men Pairs: Dennis Watt and Garðar Magnússon
Winmau Iceland Open Women Pairs: Petrea Friðriksdóttir and Elinborg Steinunnardóttir

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV