Egmond Masters removed from BDO Calendar for 2019

The Egmond Masters, the BDO/WDF tournament formerly known as the Finder Darts Masters, has been cancelled and removed from the BDO calendar for 2019. The news was first reported by Dutch darts presenter Jacques Nieuwlaat.

The tournament, played in the Dutch village of Egmond aan Zee, has been a regular highlight of the BDO circuit since its first running as the Dutch Darts Masters in 1995.

It was announced late last year that the 2018 event would be the last to be sponsored by Finder, and up until now a replacement sponsor had yet to be found. It is unclear as to whether that lack of sponsorship has influenced the removal of the tournament from the BDO calendar.

After a hiatus between 1997 and 1999, the tournament returned in 2000 and ran consistently until 2005, when it was once again forced to take a break from the calendar owing to a lack of sponsorship.

The tournament returned in its most recognisable guise in 2007 thanks to sponsorship from the Hotel Zuiderduin. In 2008 the event became BDO-ranked for the first time, with a ladies competition also added to the weekend’s play. The first winners of the ranked events were Gary Anderson and Lisa Ashton. In recent years the tournament has served as the last major competition before the BDO World Championships in January.

Raymond van Barneveld is the most successful player in the history of the tournament, having followed up his victory over Richie Burnett in the inaugural edition of the competition with wins in 2001, 2003 and 2004.

Since Anderson’s victory in 2008, the men’s event has been won by the likes of Darryl Fitton, Scott Waites, recent PDC European Tour winner Jamie Hughes, Danny Noppert and Glen Durrant, who won his third Finder Masters title at the 2018 event.

Anastasia Dobromyslova is the most successful player in the history of the ladies event, winning the title three times in 2012, 2014 and 2016. The 2018 ladies champion was Lisa Ashton.

A youth competition was added in 2011, with winners including Justin Van Tergouw, Callan Rydz, Jarred Cole and most recently the Irishman Keane Barry.

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV