European Championship Race: De Sousa seals debut after lifting maiden European Tour title

Jose de Sousa has sealed his debut in the upcoming European Championship after lifting his maiden European Tour title on Sunday in Sindelfingen.

De Sousa, who emphatically overcame Michael van Gerwen in the European Darts Grand Prix final, trousered £25,000 in Germany to rocket himself up the European Tour Order of Merit.

The Portuguese sensation joins both Gerwyn Price and Devon Peterson in having won titles on the continent this year, with South Africa’s Petersen set to make his first European Championship appearance in four years.

Meanwhile, Price is provisionally the number one seed heading into the final tournament prior to the cut-off, following his Belgian Darts Championship win back in March.

Dirk van Duijvenbode, a recent shock finalist at the World Grand Prix, is poised to appear at the European Championship for the first time since 2015.

Van Duijvenbode’s fellow countryman Martijn Kleermaker stands in good stead of making his debut, just months after winning his maiden professional tour card at European Qualifying School.

Both Dutch players will be in action in the International Darts Open from October 23-25, with Kleermaker having qualified for all four European Tour events this year.

Kleermaker in action on the European Tour (Photography: PDC Europe)

Another Dutchman in Maik Kuivenhoven sits convincingly in the rankings on £6,000 following his run to the quarter-finals at the European Darts Grand Prix.

Both Daryl Gurney and Dave Chisnall are tentatively qualified for the tournament, but will more than likely need to win their opening match in Riesa to secure their places.

If Chisnall was to unexpectedly miss out, it would be the first time in ten years that he hasn’t appeared in the televised tournament.

The European Championship will be held in Oberhausen, Germany, with Gabriel Clemens and Max Hopp currently the only host nation players within the provisional places.

However, that could change this weekend, with a couple of victories throwing Nico Kurz well and truly into the mix. The German youngster will need to come through the qualifiers beforehand on Thursday evening.

World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh is amongst the high-profile names to miss out on qualification, having failed to qualify for any European Tour events this year.

Van den Bergh did appear at March’s Belgian Darts Championship in Hasselt, in which he received an invitation as the highest ranked Belgian player on the PDC Order of Merit.

Steve Beaton will not feature at the tournament for the first time in four years, while Chris Dobey and Vincent van der Voort will also not be heading back to Germany after not qualifying for the 2020 European Tour finale in Riesa.


European Tour Order of Merit up to date and correct following European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen

1 Gerwyn Price £28,000
2 Devon Petersen £27,000
3 Jose de Sousa £26,000
4 Michael van Gerwen £16,000
5 Michael Smith £15,000
6 Mensur Suljovic £14,500
7 Mervyn King £13,500
8 Nathan Aspinall £13,000
9 Rob Cross £11,000
10 James Wade £11,000
11 Danny Noppert £10,500
12 Krzysztof Ratajski £10,000
13 Jonny Clayton £10,000
14 Peter Wright £9,500
15 Dirk van Duijvenbode £7,500
16 Martijn Kleermaker £7,000
17 Ian White £6,500
18 Glen Durrant £6,000
19 Joe Cullen £6,000
20 Jamie Hughes £6,000
21 Gabriel Clemens £6,000
22 Steve Lennon £6,000
23 Maik Kuivenhoven £6,000
24 Daryl Gurney £5,000
25 Dave Chisnall £5,000
26 Max Hopp £5,000
27 Steve West £5,000
28 Darius Labanauskas £5,000
29 Jeffrey de Zwaan £4,000
30 Kim Huybrechts £4,000
31 William O’Connor £4,000
32 Scott Waites £4,000
33 Adam Hunt £4,000
34 Nico Kurz £4,000
35 Chris Dobey £3,000
36 Vincent van der Voort £3,000
37 Ron Meulenkamp £3,000
38 Damon Heta £3,000
39 Jason Lowe £3,000
40 Derk Telnekes £3,000
41 Andy Hamilton £3,000
42 Ronny Huybrechts £3,000

Click here for the full European Tour Order of Merit via

Please note provisional prize money for the International Darts Open has been included

(Featured Image: Kais Bodenseick/PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in

Comment (1)


Darts Planet TV