Evans secures European Tour debut as six Germans qualify for European Darts Grand Prix

PDC Challenge Tour winner David Evans will make his European Tour debut on Friday, while six German players qualified for the European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen.

Due to four late withdrawals, six Host Nation spots were on offer as well as the usual two Associate Member places.

Evans defeated Sandro Wyss, Ronny Huybrechts and Dutchman Wesley Plaisier to reach the decider – where he would overcome Italy’s Michele Turetta.

Turetta narrowly missed out on a European Tour debut, seeing off both Jeffrey van Egdom and Alan Norris, and would have become the first Italian to appear on the stage.

Switzerland’s Stefan Bellmont secured his third European Tour appearance, denying Jamie Caven, Scott Marsh and Jimmy Hendriks.

Meanwhile, Nico Kurz headlined a sextet of German players to qualify for this weekend’s third European Tour event of the year, meaning nine German players will compete in Sindelfingen.

German stars Gabriel Clemens, Steffen Siepmann and Max Hopp came through the initial qualifiers earlier this year.

Two-time World Championship qualifier Kurz was joined by Robert Marijanovic and youngster Ricardo Pietreczko in securing their European Tour returns.

Kai Gotthardt, who averaged 103.6 to overcome Lukas Wenig in the final round, will make his debut on Friday, alongside two-time BDO World Championship semi-finalist Michael Unterbuchner and Markus Buffler.

Elsewhere, Mario Vandenbogaerde and Scott Marsh qualified for the International Darts Open – which will be held from October 23-25 in Riesa, Germany.


Thursday October 15
Host Nation Qualifier
Last 24

Ricardo Pietreczko 6-0 Mike Seible
Martin Kramer 6-5 Thomas Kohnlein
Michael Unterbuchner 6-0 Dominic Ferrero
Karsten Koch 6-5 Dragutin Horvat
Markus Buffler 6-1 Sead Nicevic
Kevin Knopf 6-4 Marco Obst
Kai Gotthardt 6-4 Markus Kessler
Lukas Wenig 6-2 Benjamin Freudenreic
Nico Kurz 6-1 Matt Grube
Lukas Sekinger 6-5 Thomas Junghans
Robert Marijanovic 6-3 Jens Kniest
Erik Tautfest 6-3 Willi Zimmerman

Last 12
Ricardo Pietreczko 6-3 Martin Kramer
Michael Unterbuchner 6-2 Karsten Koch
Markus Buffler 6-2 Kevin Knopf
Kai Gotthardt 6-3 Lukas Wenig
Nico Kurz 6-2 Lukas Sekinger
Robert Marijanovic 6-5 Erik Tautfest

Associate Member Qualifier
Last Eight

Michele Turetta 6-2 Alan Norris
David Evans 6-3 Wesley Plaisier
Jimmy Hendriks 6-2 Gabriel Rollo
Stefan Bellmont 6-4 Scott Marsh

Last Four
David Evans 6-3 Michele Turetta
Stefan Bellmont 6-4 Jimmy Hendriks


Thursday October 15
Associate Member Qualifier
Last Eight

Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Scott Marsh 6-3 Gabriel Rollo
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-5 Rob Collins
Brian Raman 6-4 Ryan Harrington

Last Four
Scott Marsh 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-5 Brian Raman

(Featured Image: Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV