German Darts Championship: Smith comes through St Helens derby as five Germans progress

Michael Smith hit a 167 checkout en route to a comfortable start to his German Darts Championship campaign.

‘Bully Boy’ beat Alan Tabern 6-2 in the final game of the night to set up a mouthwatering tie with world champion Peter Wright.

Fans were present in Hildesheim in the second event in successive weeks with supporters admitted.

And the home crowd got to see five German players progress to the second round of the year’s second European Tour event.

There were victories for Lucas Wenig, Dragutin Horvat, Gabriel Clemens, Nico Kurz and Max Hopp to keep the crowd dreaming of a local hero.

Devon Petersen continued his good run of late averaging 95 and hitting 6/18 on the doubles as he beat Jeffrey de Zwann 6-3, as he looks to continue his bid for an outside place at the World Grand Prix in Coventry.

Elsewhere in the race for a spot in Coventry, Chris Dobey progressed to the second round with a 6-3 win over Ryan Murray and Mervyn King beat Stefan Siepmann 6-1.

Meanwhile, Jeff Smith, who needs a deep run to get into the qualifications spots, won in a last leg thriller whilst victories for the Irishmen William O’Connor and Steve Lennon see them also in with outside chances of making the Grand Prix.

The day started with a 164 checkout being the highlight as Scott Waites got his campaign underway with a 6-3 victory over Darren Penhall, whilst Richard North, Danny Noppert and Adam Hunt were the other winners from the first day of European Tour action since March.

The German Darts Championship resumes on Saturday afternoon as the second round commences in Hildesheim.


Friday September 25
First Round
Afternoon Session

Scott Waites 6-3 Darren Penhall
William O’Connor 6-1 Daniel Larsson
Richard North 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Steve Lennon 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Jeff Smith 6-5 Franz Roetzsch
Lukas Wenig 6-4 Cody Harris
Dragutin Horvat 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
Mervyn King 6-1 Steffen Siepmann

Evening Session
Danny Noppert 6-2 Josh Payne
Adam Hunt 6-3 Steve Brown
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Steve West
Nico Kurz 6-4 Jason Lowe
Max Hopp 6-2 Reece Robinson
Devon Petersen 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Chris Dobey 6-3 Ryan Murray
Michael Smith 6-2 Alan Tabern

Saturday September 26
Second Round
Afternoon Session (12pm)
Dave Chisnall v Lukas Wenig
Jermaine Wattimena v Mervyn King
Adrian Lewis v Danny Noppert
James Wade v Nico Kurz
Daryl Gurney v Gabriel Clemens
Nathan Aspinall v Dragutin Horvat
Glen Durrant v Scott Waites
Rob Cross v William O’Connor

Evening Session (7pm)
Jonny Clayton v Chris Dobey
Ian White v Max Hopp
Mensur Suljovic v Jeff Smith
Michael van Gerwen v Steve Lennon
Peter Wright v Michael Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski v Richard North
Gerwyn Price v Devon Petersen
Joe Cullen v Adam Hunt

(Featured Image: PDC Europe)

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV