German Darts Championship: Van Gerwen and White headline field upon European Tour’s return

The field has been confirmed for the German Darts Championship, scheduled to be held from September 25-27 at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, Germany.

Despite countless cancellations and a six-month hiatus, the popular European Tour will return next month with 500 spectators planned to enter the doors of the Hildesheim venue.

World number one Michael van Gerwen leads the way in the seedings, with three-time European Tour event winner Ian White ranked as the Dutchman’s closest challenger.

Gerwyn Price, who lifted the only European Tour staging of the season thus far in Belgium five months ago, sits alongside the likes of Peter Wright, Glen Durrant and Rob Cross in the seeded positions.

Daryl Gurney will act as the defending champion in Hildesheim after overcoming Ricky Evans in last year’s edition of the tournament.

Michael Smith, Mervyn King and Chris Dobey headlined those to come through the qualifiers held in Barnsley earlier this year, while nine-dart hero Steve West impressed in March.

Steve Brown will return to the European Tour stage for the first time in almost seven years, while Daniel Larsson and Boris Koltsov will represent the Nordic and Baltic and Eastern European regions respectively.

Gabriel Clemens and Max Hopp receive their place in Hildesheim without the need of qualification by virtue of being the highest ranked German players.

An additional four players will be revealed days before the tournament as the Host Nation and Associate Members Qualifiers are contested in Hildesheim.


1 Michael van Gerwen
2 Ian White
3 Gerwyn Price
4 Peter Wright
5 Dave Chisnall
6 Krzysztof Ratajski
7 Daryl Gurney
8 Mensur Suljovic
9 James Wade
10 Glen Durrant
11 Joe Cullen
12 Nathan Aspinall
13 Jonny Clayton
14 Rob Cross
15 Adrian Lewis
16 Jermaine Wattimena

Josh Payne, Adam Hunt, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Steve Lennon, Michael Smith, Darren Penhall, Jeff Smith, Mervyn King, Jason Lowe, Devon Petersen, Steffen Siepmann, William O’Connor, Alan Tabern, Ryan Murray, Scott Waites, Ron Meulenkamp, Chris Dobey, Steve Brown, Danny Noppert, Simon Stevenson, Reece Robinson, Steve West, Niels Zonneveld, Richard North

Highest Ranked Host Nation Qualifiers
Gabriel Clemens, Max Hopp

PDC Nordic and Baltic Qualifier
Daniel Larsson

PDC Eastern Europe Qualifier
Boris Koltsov

Home Nation Qualifiers

Associate Member Qualifiers

(Featured Image: Stefan Strassenburg/PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV