Grand Slam of Darts Draw: Defending champion Price drawn alongside fellow Welshman Clayton

The groups have been revealed ahead of the upcoming Grand Slam of Darts, with defending champion Gerwyn Price being drawn alongside fellow Welshman Jonny Clayton.

The unique tournament sees codes collide from Monday afternoon at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry, with the best from the PDC and BDO competing for the Eric Bristow Trophy.

Price secured back-to-back crowns 12 months ago in Wolverhampton, with the world number three denying soon-to-be world champion Peter Wright in a one-sided final.

‘The Iceman’ begins his bid of a Grand Slam hat-trick – a feat only Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor have achieved – against World Cup of Darts teammate Clayton, Ryan Joyce and Mikuru Suzuki.

Japan’s Suzuki has travelled across the world in order to compete in her second successive Grand Slam of Darts, with the two-time women’s world champion facing Price once again.

Suzuki’s fellow female thrower Lisa Ashton is involved in the mouth-watering Group C – which has been dubbed the ‘group of death’ by many onlookers.

PDC Winter Series winner Michael Smith, Krzysztof Ratajski and Jose de Sousa join Women’s Series champion Ashton in a thrilling quartet on paper.

Ashton taking to the stage on her debut last year (Photo: Tip Top Pics)

Meanwhile, three-time champion Michael van Gerwen headlines Group A, also containing International Darts Open champion Joe Cullen, Gabriel Clemens and Adam Hunt.

Gary Anderson commences his hopes of winning a maiden Grand Slam crown in a group alongside Ryan Searle, Simon Whitlock and Czech youngster Adam Gawlas.

Former world champion Rob Cross and Dave Chisnall meet in the group stages for a second consecutive year, joining world youth champion Luke Humphries and Justin Pipe in Group D.

Reigning world champion Peter Wright headlines Group E, joining South Africa’s Devon Petersen, Ian White and World Grand Prix runner-up Dirk van Duijvenbode.

BDO world champion Wayne Warren makes his second Grand Slam appearance alongside Nathan Aspinall, Ricky Evans and Dimitri Van den Bergh in Group H.

Group F sees four stablemates in James Wade, Glen Durrant, Jermaine Wattimena and Damon Heta lock horns, with the quartet all managed by Mac Elkin.

The Grand Slam of Darts gets underway on Monday with the group stages taking place from Thursday evening broadcasted live on Sky Sports and other broadcast partners.


November 16-24
Ricoh Arena, Coventry

Group Stages
Group A

(1) Michael van Gerwen
Joe Cullen
Gabriel Clemens
Adam Hunt

Group B
(8) Gary Anderson
Simon Whitlock
Ryan Searle
Adam Gawlas

Group C
(4) Michael Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose de Sousa
Lisa Ashton

Group D
(5) Rob Cross
Dave Chisnall
Luke Humphries
Justin Pipe

Group E
(2) Peter Wright
Ian White
Devon Petersen
Dirk van Duijvenbode

Group F
(7) James Wade
Glen Durrant
Jermaine Wattimena
Damon Heta

Group G
(3) Gerwyn Price
Jonny Clayton
Ryan Joyce
Mikuru Suzuki

Group H
(6) Nathan Aspinall
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ricky Evans
Wayne Warren

Knockout Stages
Draw Bracket

A1 v B2
B1 v A2
C1 v D2
D1 v D2
E1 v F2
F1 v E2
G1 v H2
H1 v G2

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV