Grand Slam of Darts qualification criteria confirmed

The qualification criteria have been confirmed for the 2020 Grand Slam of Darts, with BDO World Champions Wayne Warren and Mikuru Suzuki both invited to the 32-player tournament.

Due to the demise of the BDO’s other major events, their remaining six spots will now go to PDC players including Home Tour champion Nathan Aspinall and the highest-ranked non-qualified players from the Summer, Autumn and Winter Series.

As announced earlier this month, there will be a Women’s Qualifier held in Cannock on Friday, 16 October, with the winner of that joining Japan’s Suzuki in the £550,000 event from 14-22 November.

Those are the notable changes from the 2019 criteria, with confirmation given that all TV finalists in the last nine months will be invited; recent World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh and World Youth Championship finalists Luke Humphries and Adam Gawlas are among the young stars set to qualify.

James Wade’s third-place finish in the Summer Series Order of Merit means he will appear at the tournament for a 14th consecutive year, while the world’s top three: Michael van Gerwen, Peter Wright and Gerwyn Price have had their places confirmed after success in recent big events.

All finalists from the upcoming televised tournaments before the Grand Slam will be rewarded with a place in Wolverhampton. Should this not yield the 22 required players, winners from Players Championships and European Tours will be considered.

This would currently see Ian White, Krzysztof Ratajski, Ryan Searle and Ryan Joyce qualify. The final eight spots will be available at a PDC Tour Card Holder qualifier.


Picture: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Jamie Cameron

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV