Gurney outgunned as Snakebites darts snap

Defending champion Daryl Gurney has been knocked out in the opening round of the 2019 Players Championship Finals after losing a last leg decider to Luke Woodhouse.


Gurney had lead the game 5-3 before Woodhouse reeled off three successive legs to send Superchin packing on opening night at Minehead.


Elsewhere, tempers flared when Adrian Lewis beat Josh Payne 6-4. 


Words were exchanged between the pair after Lewis completed the win at Reds bar on stage 2.


Michael Van Gerwen made it through to tomorrow’s last 32 with a double, double 19 checkout to beat Luke Humphires 6-3.


Van Gerwen raced into a 4-0 lead before Cool Hand Luke mounted a comeback to pull it back to 5-3, before the world number 1 hit a 95 checkout to win the match. 


Peter Wright was another notable name to be knocked out after squandering a 5-3 lead against James Wilson to then go on and lose 6-5. 


Wright’s dart snapped with his point stuck in the board mid match, with those problems magnified as the Lethal Biscuit tasted victory over Snakebite after staging a heroic comeback after hitting tops on the back of a 64 combination.


 The opening day concluded with Raymond van Barneveld showing some form of old as he beat Nathan Aspinall 6-2. 


Aspinall, who won the UK Open at Minehead in March, couldn’t recapture that form as Barney strolled into Day 2 with what was a comfortable win.


The evening session saw wins for Rob Cross, James Wade, Mensur Suljovic and newly crowned back to back Grand Slam Champion Gerwyn Price.


The afternoon session meanwhile saw notable wins for Stephen Bunting, Dave Chisnall, Michael Smith and Ian White.


Tomorrow will see 32 become 8 in a cut throat afternoon and evening of arrows at Butlins in Minehead as the ruthless Players Championship Finals ramp up a notch.

2019 PDC Players Championship Finals, Day 1 results in full:


Main Stage
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jose de Sousa 6-3 James Richardson
Glen Durrant 6-2 Scott Baker
Max Hopp 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Chris Dobey 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Michael Smith 6-1 Martin Schindler
Ian White 6-4 Devon Petersen

Stage Two
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Harry Ward
Mervyn King 6-5 Justin Pipe
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Ross Smith
John Henderson 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Keegan Brown 6-3 Andy Boulton
Ricky Evans 6-5 Steve Beaton
Danny Noppert 6-5 Ryan Searle
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Matthew Edgar


Main Stage
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Steve Lennon
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Mickey Mansell
James Wade 6-4 Ted Evetts
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Luke Humphries
James Wilson 6-5 Peter Wright
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Nathan Aspinall

Stage Two
Ryan Meikle 6-0 Jonny Clayton
Joe Cullen 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Arron Monk
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Josh Payne
William O’Connor 6-4 Steve West
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Rob Cross 6-2 Ron Meulenkamp

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV