Hayden denies Wattimena as Fullwell also triumphs in Birmingham

Rhys Hayden denied PDC tour card holder Jermaine Wattimena to lift the Birmingham Open on Sunday, while Nick Fullwell was also victorious at the Weoley Castle Working Men’s Club.

Thousands of pounds was on offer as a weekend of darting action returned to Birmingham, with the likes of Kim and Ronny Huybrechts, Jermaine Wattimena, Australia’s Damon Heta, Kyle Anderson, Brazil’s Diogo Portela and Jamie Hughes amongst those involved.

Hayden was a somewhat surprise winner in a star-studded field, narrowly denying the Netherlands’ Wattimena 7-6 in the final.

The 25-year-old began his campaign with successive 4-3 victories over Graham Hall and Connor Arbury, before thrashing the Aussie, Rob Modra, to seal his place in the last 16.

Having traveled down from Bradford for the tournament, Hayden then found himself in the quarter-finals following a 5-3 win over Coventry’s Ian McFarlane.

Colin Osbourne and Steve Hine were subsequently on the wrong end of 6-4 loses at the hands of the 25-year-old as he booked his place in the final – where he fought past Wattimena to clinch the £1,200 top prize.

A day prior to his triumph, Hayden was aptly defeated by Wattimena in the second round.

It was Stourbridge’s Nick Fullwell who reigned victorious on Saturday, after seeing off Brian Dawson at the final hurdle.

The 50-year-old, who often hoovers up titles in and around the Birmingham area, enjoyed wins over Bristol’s Ryan Palmer, Jack Wareing, Simon Edwards, Colin Osbourne and Scott Hope en route to the final.

Elsewhere, Suzanne Smith pulled off an impressive win over PDC World Darts Championship qualifier, Ritchie Edhouse, while Kim Huybrechts was defeated at the very first hurdle by Dennis Smith.

Huybrechts all but made up for his early exit on the Saturday, reaching the quarter-finals on Sunday, only to lose out to eventual runner-up Wattimena.

There was also a monumental occasion in Birmingham as David Pallett nailed the nine-dart finish during his second round match against Luke Smith.

The two ladies’ titles were both won by Evonne Taylor – who saw off Chris Savvery and Jackie Maiden in the respective finals.

Birmingham Open organiser, Stephen Pasetti has already confirmed a potential return for the popular double-header during the 2020 festive period.

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV