Heta wins two more DPA events to move to verge of Ally Pally spot

Brisbane Darts Master Damon Heta won two of the four DPA ProTour events in Melbourne this weekend to gain an almost unassailable lead over nearest challenger James Bailey in the race to the 2020 World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace.

Heta had already had a superb year, winning five ProTours going into the penultimate weekend of DPA action, as well as the Australian Open and the aforementioned Brisbane Masters. The quartet of tournaments got underway on Friday, and Raymond O’Donnell came out on top for the second time in 2019, seeing off World Championship qualifier last year, James Bailey, 6-5 in the quarter-finals, Steve Fitzpatrick in the last four, and easing past Robbie King to claim the title.

The other semi-final saw King beat Heta in a deciding leg, but the DPA number one still extended his lead over Bailey after Event 23. ‘The Heat’ fell at the last 16 in Saturday’s first event, but Bailey failed to close the gap significantly, losing out in the last leg to O’Donnell once more, and once again in the last eight. Whitewash victories for Gordon Mathers in the quarters and semis set him up perfectly for the final with Tim Pusey, but the youngster won a tight game 6-5 for his first DPA title of the year and second overall.

Mathers also found himself in the final of Event 25, beating a resurgent Raymond Smith 6-4 in the last four, but this time it was Heta who saw him off in the decider, 6-4. Last year’s DPA leader, Smith, reached the semi-finals of the weekend’s final event as well, but lost to an inspired Mathers 5-3. Heta was carving through the field, though, and a 92.7 average was enough for a 6-1 win and his 7th ProTour title of the 2019, a result that condemned Mathers to a third runner-up spot in three events.

Heta now leads Bailey by 78 points with four events left. If Bailey doesn’t win all four titles, Heta will qualify, or if Heta reaches one last 16, a World Championship debut is his, so it’s looking very likely that a breakthrough year for ‘The Heat’ will conclude at the Alexandra Palace.


DPA ProTour 23

Damon Heta 6-4 Rhys Mathewson
Robbie King 6-1 Mick Lacey
James Bailey 5-6 Raymond O’Donnell
Steve Fitzpatrick 6-1 Gordon Mathers

Damon Heta 5-6 Robbie King
Raymond O’Donnell 6-5 Steve Fitzpatrick

Robbie King 1-6 Raymond O’Donnell


DPA ProTour 24

Michael Cassar 0-6 Tim Pusey
Rob Modra 2-6 Mick Lacey
James Bailey 5-6 Raymond O’Donnell
Paul Cotton 0-6 Gordon Mathers

Tim Pusey 6-2 Mick Lacey
Raymond O’Donnell 0-6 Gordon Mathers

Tim Pusey 6-5 Gordon Mathers


DPA ProTour 25

Damon Heta 6-3 Tim Pusey
Mike Bonser 3-6 Brandon Weening
James Bailey 1-6 Raymond Smith
Steve Fitzpatrick 5-6 Gordon Mathers

Damon Heta 6-2 Brandon Weening
Raymond Smith 4-6 Gordon Mathers

Damon Heta 6-4 Gordon Mathers


DPA ProTour 25

Damon Heta 5-1 Tim Pusey
Brendon McCausland 2-5 Brody Klinge
Mick Lacey 3-5 Gordon Mathers
Raymond Smith 5-1 Rob Modra

Damon Heta 5-4 Brody Klinge
Gordon Mathers 5-3 Raymond Smith

Damon Heta 6-1 Gordon Mathers


Jamie Cameron

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV