Humphries crowned PDC Home Tour II champion after scintillating string of performances

Luke Humphries was crowned the PDC Home Tour II champion on Tuesday evening after producing a scintillating string of performances in the Championship Group.

Following the success of Nathan Aspinall in June during the inaugural Home Tour, Humphries reigned victorious as the innovative home-streamed format continued to provide players with opportunities to keep their competitive juices flowing.

Humphries commenced his Championship Group campaign by coming through successive deciding leg thrillers against Ross Smith and Ron Meulenkamp respectively.

The reigning world youth champion recorded an impressive 101.48 average and three maximums against Smith, before pinning a crucial 12-darter to deny Dutchman Meulenkamp.

Jonny Clayton subsequently handed Humphries his only defeat of the day, prior to the two-time World Championship quarter-finalist returning to winning ways with checkouts of 116 and 117 in thrashing Kai Fan Leung.

Humphries then convincingly overcame the highest ranked player in the tournament in Krzysztof Ratajski, with the Pole being left to rue missed darts at double.

‘Cool Hand Luke’ recorded a blistering 108.31 average in seeing off the reigning Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion, handing Ratajski’s hopes of topping the table a major blow in the process.

Humphries proceeded to defeat Australian Damon Heta to seal top spot, once again averaging in excess of the 106 mark and pinning five of his ten attempts on the outer ring.

“I’m honestly so happy to have won the PDC Home Tour II today,” Humphries said afterwards on social media. “Never at the start did I think I’d be the winner!

“But I’m so proud to have beaten so many fantastic players throughout the whole competition. It’s great preparation for the very important upcoming months.”

Meanwhile, Welshman Clayton lost out on the title on leg difference, having also won five of his six matches throughout a gruelling Championship Group.

Heta handed Clayton his only loss of the campaign whilst averaging 102.73 and converting mesmerising checkouts of 100 and 104.

The reigning Brisbane Darts Masters champion secured a third-placed finish, with his highlight coming in a 5-1 victory over Smith, in which he recorded a scintillating 118.96 average and five maximums.

Heta ended up above both Ratajski and Meulenkamp on leg difference, while Leung and Smith finished towards the foot of the table with four points between them.


Tuesday October 20
Championship Group

Krzysztof Ratajski 5-3 Kai Fan Leung
Luke Humphries 5-4 Ross Smith
Damon Heta 5-2 Jonny Clayton
Ron Meulenkamp 5-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Damon Heta 5-4 Kai Fan Leung
Jonny Clayton 5-4 Ross Smith
Luke Humphries 5-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Krzysztof Ratajski 5-4 Damon Heta
Kai Fan Leung 5-4 Ross Smith
Jonny Clayton 5-3 Luke Humphries
Ron Meulenkamp 5-4 Damon Heta
Krzysztof Ratajski 5-2 Ross Smith
Luke Humphries 5-1 Kai Fan Leung
Jonny Clayton 5-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Damon Heta 5-1 Ross Smith
Luke Humphries 5-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jonny Clayton 5-4 Kai Fan Leung
Ross Smith 5-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Luke Humphries 5-2 Damon Heta
Jonny Clayton 5-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
Ron Meulenkamp 5-4 Kai Fan Leung

Group Standings
1 Luke Humphries P6 W5 L1 DIFF +10 PTS 10
2 Jonny Clayton P6 W5 L1 DIFF +6 PTS 10
3 Damon Heta P6 W3 L3 DIFF +3 PTS 6
4 Krzysztof Ratajski P6 W3 L3 DIFF -1 PTS 6
5 Ron Meulenkamp P6 W3 L3 DIFF -2 PTS 6
6 Kai Fan Leung P6 W1 L5 DIFF -8 PTS 2
7 Ross Smith P6 W1 L5 DIFF -8 PTS 2

*Leung finished above Smith on head-to-head after beating him earlier in the day

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV