Huybrechts and Harrington amongst last chance Belgian Darts Championship qualifiers

Ronny Huybrechts and Ryan Harrington were amongst those victorious as the Host Nation and Associate Member qualifiers took place at the Expo Hasselt ahead of this weekend’s inaugural Belgium Darts Championship.

Both Huybrechts and Harrington lost their professional status in January after falling short of the world’s top 64 come the conclusion of the World Championship at Alexandra Palace.

Huybrechts, whose brother Kim will also be participating in their home country, recorded averages in the mid-eighties throughout Thursday’s Host Nation Qualifier.

‘The Rebel’ defeated Remo Mandiau and Robbie Knops, before overcoming his compatriot Brian Raman in the decider to book his place at the 2020 European Tour opener, setting up a first round meeting with Luke Humphries in the process.

Former BDO World Championship participants Jeffrey van Egdom and Geert De Vos joined Antwerp’s Huybrechts in qualifying as the pair also came through a field of 22 players of Belgian descent.

32-year-old van Egdom saw off Pascal Mooens, Jody Tobback and Patrick Bulen, while former BDO World Trophy champion De Vos beat Marc Sleven, Kevin Blomme and Martin Kersbeeck to seal their European Tour debuts.

Van Egdom will take on Steve West on Friday evening as De Vos faces Dutchman Danny Noppert three matches beforehand.

Elsewhere in Belgium, Ryan Harrington qualified for his third European Tour event since the beginning of last season as he denied BDO World Championship quarter-finalist Chris Landman an anticipated debut.

Harrington also got the better of Jamo Braamskamp, Jerry Hendriks, David Schlichting and Ryan de Vreede after making the trip from Chelmsford in order to participate.

German youngster Schlichting pinned a remarkable 170 checkout during his third round meeting with eventual qualifier Harrington – who will face Belgian number one Kim Huybrechts on Friday.

Wesley Plaisier joined Harrington in securing qualification as he overcame the vastly impressive Scott Marsh in the decider, after having already seen off Jimmy Hendriks, Alexander Merkx, Erik Tautfest and Levy Frauenfelder.

Alan Norris, Richard Veenstra, Kevin Much, Willem Mandigers and Mario Robbe were also involved in Hasselt, though, they departed early on.

ET1 Host Nation Qualifiers

Penultimate Round

Jeffrey van Egdom 6-4 Jody Tobback

Patrick Bulen 6-3 Werner Tiest

Brian Raman 6-2 Kevin van Wauwe

Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Robbie Knops

Geert De Vos 6-4 Kevin Blomme

Martin Kernsbeeck 6-2 Lorenzo van Hove

Final Round

Jeffrey van Edgom 6-5 Patrick Bulen

Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Brian Raman

Geert De Vos 6-4 Martin Kernsbeeck

ET1 Associate Members Qualifiers

Penultimate Round

Wesley Plaisier 6-3 Jimmy Hendriks

Scott Marsh 6-4 Danny van Trijp

Chris Landman 6-3 Owen Roelofs

Ryan Harrington 6-2 Ryan de Vreede

Final Round

Wesley Plaisier 6-3 Scott Marsh

Ryan Harrington 6-3 Chris Landman

(Photography: PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV