Huybrechts and Harris amongst last chance German Darts Championship qualifiers as Kurz heads Host Nation

The field for this weekend’s German Darts Championship was finalised on Thursday evening as two respective qualifying events were held in Hildesheim.

Both the Associate Member and Host Nation Qualifiers took place in Germany, with six players sealing their spots at the second European Tour event of the year.

Cody Harris and Ronny Huybrechts came through the Associate Member Qualifier, consisting of 23 non-tour card holders who do not reside from Germany.

New Zealand’s Harris overcame Anoop Ramdajal, Greece’s Veniamin Symeonidis and Dutchman Wesley Plaisier, while Belgium’s Huybrechts saw off Sandro Wyss, Arjan Konterman and Ryan Harrington.

Meanwhile, youngster Nico Kurz headed a quartet of Host Nation qualifiers after opting to remain on German soil instead of participating in this weekend’s Development Tour events.

Kurz defeated former European Tour qualifiers Florian Hempel and Robert Marijanovic, as well as the relatively unknown Sven Preuss and Danny Tessmann.

It was will the 23-year-old’s second European Tour appearance, having made his debut in March of last year with a first round defeat against Kim Huybrechts.

Kurz will be joined in representing Germany by the already qualified Max Hopp and Gabriel Clemens, as well as his fellow qualifiers Dragutin Horvat, Lukas Wenig and Franz Roetzsch.

The German Darts Championship commences on Friday afternoon at Halle 39 in Hildesheim as the European Tour makes its anticipated return in front of a sizeable crowd.


Associate Member Qualifier
Last Eight

Ryan Harrington 6-3 Diogo Portela
Ronny Huybrechts 6-0 Arjan Konterman
Cody Harris 6-4 Veniamin Symeonidis
Wesley Plaisier 6-1 Alan Norris

Last Four
Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Ryan Harrington
Cody Harris 6-0 Wesley Plaisier

Host Nation Qualifier
Last 16

Ricardo Pietreczko 6-1 Frederic Kienz
Lukas Wenig 6-1 Niko Springer
Thomas Kohnlein 6-3 Andreas Winterling
Franz Roetzsch 6-2 Danny Kaiser
Nico Kurz 6-0 Danny Tessmann
Robert Marijanovic 6-2 Tim Darmstadter
Dragutin Horvat 6-1 Dominik Thiel
Kevin Munch 6-2 Karl Cron

Last Eight
Lukas Wenig 6-3 Ricardo Pietreczko
Franz Roetzsch 6-3 Thomas Kohnlein
Nico Kurz 6-2 Robert Marijanovic
Dragutin Horvat 6-3 Kevin Munch

(Featured Image: Sven Neuschaefer/PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV