Lewis and Edgar amongst those to come through last chance qualifiers for World Championship

Jamie Lewis and Matthew Edgar were amongst six players to seal last chance qualification for the next month’s World Darts Championship on Monday afternoon.

Two qualifiers were held simultaneously at Coventry’s Ricoh Arena, with four players from the UK and Ireland and two players from the rest of the world sealing qualification at last grasp.

Former World Championship semi-finalist Lewis came through the qualifier for the second time in four years, months after vying to take a break from the sport due to confidence problems.

The 29-year-old will appear at his eighth World Championship in nine years next month, following victories over David Pallett, Alan Tabern and multiple-time major champion Robert Thornton.

Lewis’ fellow Welshman Nick Kenny secured an Alexandra Palace debut, arranging a pleasing end to his maiden season on the professional circuit after winning his PDC Tour Card in January.

Kenny, a three-time BDO World Championship participant, survived match darts against both Steve Brown and James Wilson.

Internet sensation Matthew Edgar and Irishman Ciaran Teehan announced their returns to north London, after overcoming Josh Payne and Joe Murnan in their respective final round matches.

Meanwhile at the Rest of the World Qualifier, Dutch youngster Niels Zonneveld sealed his Alexandra Palace debut, overcoming Krzysztof Kciuk, Martin Schindler and Jelle Klaasen.

Klaasen will be absent from the World Championship for the first time in seven years, while his compatriot Benito van de Pas will miss his first since 2014.

Karel Sedlacek of the Czech Republic will make his second appearance after overcoming Rowby-John Rodriguez, Benito van de Pas and Jan Dekker.

All 96 players for the vastly prestigious tournament have now been confirmed, with the draw being shown on Sky Sports News on Thursday morning.


Monday November 30
Ricoh Arena, Coventry

UK and Ireland Qualifier
Last 16

Joe Murnan 6-3 Conan Whitehead
Ciaran Teehan 6-2 Mark McGeeney
Robert Thornton 6-2 Harry Ward
Jamie Lewis 6-2 Alan Tabern
Josh Payne 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Martin Atkins
James Wilson 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Nick Kenny 6-3 Ted Evetts

Last Eight
Ciaran Teehan 7-6 Joe Murnan
Jamie Lewis 7-5 Robert Thornton
Matthew Edgar 7-2 Josh Payne
Nick Kenny 7-6 James Wilson

Click here for full results from the UK and Ireland Qualifier via the DartConnect system

Rest of the World Qualifier
Last Eight

Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Martin Schindler 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Benito van de Pas
Jan Dekker 6-1 Geert Nentjes

Last Four
Niels Zonneveld 7-4 Martin Schindler
Karel Sedlacek 7-2 Jan Dekker

Click here for full results from the Rest of the World Qualifier via the DartConnect system

(Featured Image: Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV