Modus Icons of Darts: Nicholson denies Adams hat-trick as Koltsov seals success

Paul Nicholson denied Martin Adams a hat-trick of titles on Week Four in Phase Two of the Modus Icons of Darts Live League as Boris Koltsov claimed Friday’s spoils.

Prior to the penultimate day of the fourth week in Phase Two of the innovation commencing, three-time world champion Adams has reigned victorious on both Monday and Wednesday.

The 63-year-old veteran was in search of the treble on Friday afternoon, but fell short at the hands of Nicholson in the decider, handing Russia’s Koltsov the crown.

Ahead of his culminating clash with the former Players Championship Finals winner, Adams kept his hopes of top spot alive in his previous match against Fallon Sherrock, with both players averaging in excess of the 98 mark.

Russian number one Koltsov opened his bid with defeat at the hands of Justin Smith, with the Welshman pinning a marvellous 170 checkout, before immediately getting off the mark with a 4-3 win over Keelan Kay.

Koltsov then overcome Mike Warburton in a low-quality affair despite squandering a staggering 21 darts at double, prior to being handed his second loss of the day against Sherrock – who averaged 95.73.

Nicholson was subsequently edged out by the Moscow-based thrower, as Koltsov pinned four maximums and checkouts of 62, 96 and 110, before bringing his day to a close with an empathic 4-1 win over Adams.

Koltsov converted a mesmerising 167 checkout against ‘Wolfie’, and was forced to wait almost two hours to find out that he had secured his second Phase Two title.

Elsewhere, Devon youngster Kay finished in second place, with leg difference separating him and sixth place Sherrock in a closely contested afternoon in the Icons of Darts Live League.

Phase Two of the Modus Icons of Darts Live League resumes on Saturday morning, including Ritchie Edhouse and Mark Webster – who have both clinched titles during the fourth week of action.


Week Four – Day Five
Friday May 29

Boris Koltsov 2-4 Justin Smith
Mike Warburton 4-2 Keelan Kay
Keelan Kay 3-4 Boris Koltsov
Justin Smith 4-0 Mike Warburton
Mike Warburton 3-4 Boris Koltsov
Keelan Kay 4-1 Justin Smith
Boris Koltsov 3-4 Fallon Sherrock
Justin Smith 2-4 Paul Nicholson
Martin Adams 1-4 Mike Warburton
Fallon Sherrock 0-4 Keelan Kay
Paul Nicholson 3-4 Boris Koltsov
Justin Smith 0-4 Martin Adams
Mike Warburton 1-4 Fallon Sherrock
Keelan Kay 4-1 Paul Nicholson
Boris Koltsov 4-1 Martin Adams
Fallon Sherrock 3-4 Justin Smith
Paul Nicholson 4-1 Mike Warburton
Martin Adams 4-0 Keelan Kay
Fallon Sherrock 4-2 Paul Nicholson
Martin Adams 4-3 Fallon Sherrock
Paul Nicholson 4-2 Martin Adams

(Featured Image: PDC Europe + Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV