Modus Icons of Darts: Red hot Evans comes close to nine-darter during scintillating string of showings

David Evans came close to nailing a nine-darter during his triumphant campaign on Day Two as the second week of Phase Two in the Modus Icons of Darts Live League continued.

Evans, who reached the quarter-finals of the BDO World Championship in December, maintained an unbeaten streak throughout the duration of the afternoon, winning six out of six in a scintillating string of performances.

The former PDC Challenge Tour event winner began his table-topping tournament with a 102.13 average in thrashing emerging Dutchman Wessel Nijman 4-1, before defeating Arron Monk in whitewash fashion.

Evans pinned back-to-back maximums in the second leg against the former world youth champion, before snatching at his attempt at double 12 for the illusive 141 checkout.

The 30-year-old then recorded another ton-plus average in comfortably overcoming Adam Huckvale, prior to ousting a well below-par Darryl Fitton – who was making his Icons of Darts Live League debut on Tuesday afternoon.

Scott Mitchell was subsequently beaten by Evans, before the Manchester-based ace capped off his remarkable afternoon’s work with a 4-1 win over Paul Nicholson despite squandering ten darts on the outer ring.

Phase Two of the Modus Icons of Darts Live League resumes on Wednesday with Pool A players returning to action.

Monday’s winner Justin Smith leads the way in the view of the bookmakers, with three-time world champion Martin Adams and global sensation Fallon Sherrock also competing.


Week Two – Day Two
Tuesday May 12

Arron Monk 4-1 Adam Huckvale
Wessel Nijman 1-4 David Evans
David Evans 4-0 Arron Monk
Adam Huckvale 0-4 Wessel Nijman
Wessel Nijman 4-2 Arron Monk
David Evans 4-1 Adam Huckvale
Arron Monk 2-4 Darryl Fitton
Adam Huckvale 3-4 Scott Mitchell
Paul Nicholson 4-3 Wessel Nijman
Darryl Fitton 2-4 David Evans
Scott Mitchell 4-2 Arron Monk
Adam Huckvale 2-4 Paul Nicholson
Wessel Nijman 1-4 Darryl Fitton
David Evans 4-1 Scott Mitchell
Arron Monk 4-3 Paul Nicholson
Darryl Fitton 2-4 Adam Huckvale
Scott Mitchell 3-4 Wessel Nijman
Paul Nicholson 1-4 David Evans
Darryl Fitton 0-4 Scott Mitchell
Paul Nicholson 1-4 Darryl Fitton
Scott Mitchell 3-4 Paul Nicholson

(Photography: Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV