Modus Icons of Darts: Russia’s Koltsov completes clean sweep whilst being crowned Day Five champion

Boris Koltsov claimed the spoils on Day Five following an unbeaten string of performances as Phase Two of the Modus Icons of Darts Live League resumed.

The Russian narrowly missed out on clinching the title on Monday and finished in sixth place on Wednesday, before topping the pile on Friday afternoon.

Koltsov, a winner on the PDC Challenge Tour last season, won all six of his matches and showcased a scintillating standard across the day – which saw 21 matches take place.

He opened his campaign with a 4-2 win over Brazil’s Diogo Portela, recording a 95.93 average and pinning four maximums, before thrashing former world youth champion James Hubbard with an average minimally spare of the 100 mark.

Koltsov then survived a scare against the prodigiously-talented Keelan Kay. The Russian avoided a deciding leg with a 122 checkout on the bullseye, and prevailed despite squandering 11 darts at double.

Fallon Sherrock was then ousted by Koltsov as the 31-year-old continued his winning streak with four out of seven on the doubles and an impressive 98.68 average.

Martin Adams subsequently posted a 102.88 average, though, that was defied by the Russian who ran out victorious despite averaging exactly 13 points less than his legendary opponent.

In his culminating clash of the afternoon, Koltsov secured top spot with a 4-2 win over two-time Icons of Darts champion Justin Smith.

Three-time world champion Adams finished second best on the day with his defeat to Koltsov proving decisive, while Smith, champion on Monday and Wednesday, ended up in fifth place with two wins to his name.

Phase Two of the Modus Icons of Darts Live League resumes on Saturday with Pool B players returning to action, including David Evans – who has won 11 of his 12 matches thus far this week.


Week Two – Day Five
Friday May 15

Diogo Portela 2-4 Boris Koltsov
James Hubbard 4-1 Keelan Kay
Keelan Kay 3-4 Diogo Portela
Boris Koltsov 4-1 James Hubbard
James Hubbard 4-0 Diogo Portela
Keelan Kay 2-4 Boris Koltsov
Diogo Portela 2-4 Justin Smith
Boris Koltsov 4-1 Fallon Sherrock
Martin Adams 4-3 James Hubbard
Justin Smith 4-2 Keelan Kay
Fallon Sherrock 4-1 Diogo Portela
Boris Koltsov 4-3 Martin Adams
James Hubbard 4-2 Justin Smith
Keelan Kay 2-4 Fallon Sherrock
Diogo Portela 3-4 Martin Adams
Justin Smith 1-4 Boris Koltsov
Fallon Sherrock 4-2 James Hubbard
Martin Adams 4-2 Keelan Kay
Justin Smith 2-4 Fallon Sherrock
Martin Adams 4-2 Justin Smith
Fallon Sherrock 0-4 Martin Adams

(Photography: PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV