PDC Order of Merit: Price ends Van Gerwen’s seven-year stay as world number one

Newly-crowned world champion Gerwyn Price has brought Michael van Gerwen’s seven-year stay at the head of the PDC Order of Merit to a halt following his success at Alexandra Palace.

Since overcoming Peter Wright to claim his maiden world title seven years ago, Van Gerwen has topped the darting ladder, but his lengthy period at the pinnacle has been scuppered by his Welsh counterpart.

Price, a soon-to-be Qualifying School graduate when the Dutchman initially became world number one, achieved the elusive feat courtesy of a 7-3 win over Gary Anderson in Sunday’s final in north London.

Triumphant campaigns at the Grand Slam of Darts and World Grand Prix, as well as numerous runs to televised ranking finals, have played a crucial role in the Welshman’s rise to the top of the darting landscape.

Van Gerwen was frustrated after exiting in the quarter-finals (Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Price’s success means former world champion Peter Wright drops down to world number three in the world rankings, having jumped back into the world’s top four by virtue of his World Championship triumph 12 months ago.

Meanwhile, world finalist Gary Anderson climbed five places on the Order of Merit to regain his place in the world’s top ten, having commenced the tournament as the 13th seed.

Anderson’s former protege Michael Smith drops down to ninth following his second round exit at the hands of the giant-killing Jason Lowe, two years after reaching the final.

Former world champion Rob Cross retains his place within the world’s top four despite an extremely disappointing season, while Dave Chisnall climbed to sixth following his semi-final run at Alexandra Palace.

Elsewhere, there were significant rises for another beaten semi-finalist in Stephen Bunting and quarter-finalist Dirk van Duijvenbode, with the pair jumping nine and eleven places respectively.

Bunting celebrates after reaching the semi-finals in London (Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Bunting now finds himself on the brink of a return to the top 16, while Dutchman Van Duijvenbode broke into the world’s top 32, less than one year after securing professional status at European Qualifying School.

Two-time world champion Adrian Lewis continues his decline, spiralling down an additional three places to 24th in the rankings after suffering a shock second round departure at the hands of American Danny Baggish.

Slightly lower down the pecking order, Luke Humphries and Ryan Joyce departed the world’s top 40 after reaching the quarter-finals two years ago and enduring early exits this time around.

Despite all departing at the second hurdle, Andy Boulton, Damon Heta, Madars Razma and Mickey Mansell now occupy the early 50s bracket on the Order of Merit.

Adam Hunt and Jason Lowe soared 17 and 18 places respectively following their runs to the third round in the capital, with those two now situated around the 60th mark.


Updated PDC Order of Merit
1 Gerwyn Price £1,317,500
2 Michael van Gerwen £1,044,750
3 Peter Wright £1,021,000
4 Rob Cross £516,000
5 Nathan Aspinall £457,750
6 Dave Chisnall £440,750
7 James Wade £432,500
8 Gary Anderson £421,250
9 Michael Smith £416,750
10 Dimitri Van den Bergh £367,750
11 Daryl Gurney £358,500
12 Ian White £358,500
13 Glen Durrant £357,750
14 Krzysztof Ratajski £324,500
15 Jose de Sousa £314,250
16 Joe Cullen £291,500
17 Stephen Bunting £277,500
18 Jonny Clayton £263,000
19 Simon Whitlock £262,000
20 Mervyn King £258,250
21 Mensur Suljovic £257,250
22 Jeffrey de Zwaan £211,000
23 Chris Dobey £209,000
24 Adrian Lewis £208,750
25 Danny Noppert £207,250
26 Jermaine Wattimena £205,000
27 Jamie Hughes £188,750
28 Vincent van der Voort £188,000
29 Gabriel Clemens £185,000
30 Ricky Evans £181,000
31 Devon Petersen £170,750
32 Dirk van Duijvenbode £168,000
33 Steve Beaton £153,250
34 Brendan Dolan £143,250
35 Keegan Brown £142,250
36 William O’Connor £139,000
37 Ryan Searle £134,000
38 Kim Huybrechts £133,750
39 Max Hopp £123,750
40 John Henderson £123,500
41 Ross Smith £121,000
42 Luke Humphries £117,500
43 Darius Labanauskas £116,250
44 Ryan Joyce £103,750
45 Steve West £99,250
46 Darren Webster £96,000
47 Steve Lennon £85,000
48 Luke Woodhouse £84,000
49 Justin Pipe £80,250
50 Ron Meulenkamp £79,000
51 Andy Boulton £72,750
52 Damon Heta £72,250
53 Madars Razma £68,500
54 Mickey Mansell £65,000
55 Josh Payne £63,000
56 Jelle Klaasen £61,000
57 Harry Ward £54,750
58 Matthew Edgar £54,250
59 Adam Hunt £51,500
60 Kyle Anderson £49,250
61 Cristo Reyes £49,000
62 Ted Evetts £48,500
63 Jason Lowe £48,000
64 James Wilson £44,750

Click here for the current and updated PDC Order of Merit in full via dartsrankings.com

Players to be world number one
Gerwyn Price (2021)
Michael van Gerwen (2014)
Raymond van Barneveld (2008)
Colin Lloyd (2005)
John Part (2003)
Peter Manley (2000)
Phil Taylor (1996)
Rod Harrington (1995)
Dennis Priestley (1994)
Alan Warriner (1993)

Bracketed number indicates the year in which they first became world number one

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV