PDC Q School Day Three: Monk, Kanik and Killington win tour cards

Arron Monk, George Killington and Tytus Kanik all win through their fields on day three at Q School to earn the chance to compete on the full PDC professional circuit.

Arron Monk, a former World Championship qualifier and the first ever PDC World Youth Championship winner, secured his tour card at the Robin Park Leisure Centre in Wigan beating Lee Evans in the final round.

Monk came through the field of over 400 in Wigan to rejoin the PDC tour after two years away. ‘Mad Monk’ won the World Youth Championship in 2011 beating a man called Michael Van Gerwen in the final before going on to win six Development Tour events in 2012.

The son of Colin Monk, a former World Masters winner in 1996, beat some fantastic players on route to victory in Wigan. Callum Loose, Mark Pritchard and Antony Darlow were first to be beaten by the Basingstoke-based darter before he saw off Scottish Open winner Cameron Menzies to reach the last 16.

‘Mad Monk’ edged out Matthew Edgar in a last leg decider to go two wins away from victory in Wigan. Youngster Lewis Pride was then whitewashed by the man from Basingstoke before he thrashed Lee Evans 6-2 to make his long awaited return to life in the PDC.

George Killington, a former television finalist from London, has won through the UK Qualifying School on day three. Killington is a former England Nationals runner-up and a Development Tour winner in 2014. The Londoner practises with Brazilian Diogo Portela and the practice made perfect today in Wigan.

Killington didn’t have it easy on route to victory at the Robin Park Leisure Centre. Colin Lloyd, a former World Matchplay and World Grand Prix winner, was first to be send packing by the Londoner before he beat Dean Winstanley. Craig Quinn and Trevor Burkhill were next to fall as Killington sailed through to the last 16.

US Darts Masters quarter-finalist Dawson Murschell was next to be saw off before he prevailed to the final round with a win over Darren Beveridge. Killington proved to much for Craig Eastwood as he won through 5-3, emotionally winning his tour card for the very first time.

Tytus Kanik became the first Pole to win through at Qualifying School and claim a PDC tour card in the history of darts. Many thought Tytus’ World Cup of Darts teammate Krzysztof Ratajski would achieve that piece of darting history this weekend but a surprise Pole came through instead.

Kanik has played in a few WDF events and the World Cup of Darts with Poland in recent years but this doesn’t came close to that. The Pole tried to qualify for all 12 European Tour events in 2017 but was beaten almost every time by his Polish nemesis.

Kanik overcame Christopher Haensch in his opening match before then edging out Stefan Nilles in a deciding leg, and saw off Ryan De Vreede and Ricardo Pietreczko on his way to the quarter-finals.

There, he whitewashed Rene Berndt and then overcame Belgium’s Davy Van Baelen 5-3 before repeating that scoreline in the final round against Spain’s Jose Justicia, who had hopes of joining Spanish countrymen Toni Alcinas and Cristo Reyes on the PDC ProTour.

Nathan Aspinall, Ross Smith and Ryan Harrington have left themselves in a healthy position leading into the final day of action in the UK edition while Danny Noppert, Robert Marijanovic and Dirk Van Duijvenbode all also looking odds on to get one of the six golden tickets on offer in Hildesheim. Spain’s Jose Justicia is looking strong on eight points and looking set to join Cristo Reyes and Toni Alcinas on the tour with a good run on the final day!

Winning a tour card will enable players to play the full tour of 22 Players Championship, events, 13 European Tour events and the six UK Open qualifiers. It will also give them the chance to qualify for tournaments such as World Championship, Players Championship and the World Matchplay and possibly become the next Rob Cross.

For full results visit The Maximum website or visit the Darts Planet TV Forum which can be viewed at the top of your screen!

UK Qualifying School Day Three

Last 16

Scott Dale 5-1 Haruki Muramatsu
Lee Evans 5-2 David Pallett
Arron Monk 5-4 Matthew Edgar
Lewis Pride 5-4 David Evans
Darren Beveridge 5-4 Steven Marfleet
George Killington 5-1 Dawson Murschell
Ross Smith 5-4 Ryan Meikle
Gary Eastwood 5-2 Charlie Jackson

Last Eight
Lee Evans 5-1 Scott Dale
Arron Monk 5-0 Lewis Pride
George Killington 5-4 Darren Beveridge
Gary Eastwood 5-2 Ross Smith

Final Round
Arron Monk 5-2 Lee Evans
George Killington 5-3 Gary Eastwood

European Qualifying School Day Three

Last Eight
Tytus Kanik 5-0 Rene Berndt
Davy Van Baelen 5-4 Thomas Junghans
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 5-3 Marko Kantele
Jose Justicia 5-2 Tobias Hoentsch

Last Four
Tytus Kanik 5-3 Davy Van Baelen
Jose Justicia 5-1 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez

Final Round
Tytus Kanik 5-3 Jose Justicia

PDC Tour Card Winners
Day One: Corey Cadby, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Eddie Dootson
Day Two: Robert Owen, Mario Robbe, Alan Tabern
Day Three: Tytus Kanik, George Killington, Arron Monk

Phot0graphy courtesy of Lawrence Lustig and the Professional Darts Corporation. 

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in

Comment (1)

  1. Great to see a blast from the past with Aaron monk winning a tour card. I would have also predicted Dawson murchell to get a tour card and his result was a little on the disappointing side. Don’t know anything about George Killington and tytus kanik but they obviously have talent to get a tour card in what is a very tough field to get through.


Darts Planet TV