PDC Summer Series Day One Draw: Price and Klaasen to lock horns in Players Championship Nine first round

The draw for Day One of the PDC Summer Series has been confirmed, with top seed Gerwyn Price facing Jelle Klaasen in the first round of Players Championship Nine.

The first of the five Players Championship events to held back-to-back in Milton Keynes, will see 128 of the world’s elite darts players battle it out at the Marshall Arena for the £75,000 prize fund on offer.

The PDC ProTour has been suspended since mid-March at the hands of the coronavirus pandemic, though, professional darts now returns in a ‘bubble’ environment with strict regulations.

Number one seed Price will lock horns with former world champion Klaasen in an eye-catching first round encounter, while world number one Michael van Gerwen will mark his return with a tussle with Irish prospect Ciaran Teehan.

Newly-crowned PDC Home Tour champion Nathan Aspinall will face Dutch youngster Niels Zonneveld, while reigning world champion Peter Wright takes on Ron Meulenkamp.

Poland’s Krzysztof Ratajski, who is seeded number three after lifting seven PDC titles in just over two years, faces the Devon-based thrower Simon Stevenson.

Portuguese sensation Jose de Sousa will be hoping to claim his third title in almost a year as he faces Mike De Decker, as will Brendan Dolan as he takes on Adrian Gray.

The in-form Dirk van Duijvenbode, Gabriel Clemens and Chris Dobey will be amongst those vying to mount their charge on a debut crown within the professional echelons of the sport.

Premier League stars Glen Durrant, Gary Anderson, Daryl Gurney and Rob Cross are also included in a strong field.

Play is currently scheduled to commence at 2.30pm in Milton Keynes, with the action streamed live via PDC TV and numerous bookmaker’s websites.


Wednesday July 8
Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes

First Round
Gerwyn Price v Jelle Klassen
Martijn Kleermaker v Geert Nentjes
Steve West v Mickey Mansell
Peter Jacques v Stephen Bunting
Danny Noppert v Darius Labanauskas
Madars Razma v Andrew Gilding
Jose De Sousa v Mike De Decker
Cameron Menzies v Ross Smith
Michael van Gerwen v Ciaran Teehan
Michael Barnard v William Borland
Keegan Brown v Matthew Edgar
Callan Rydz v Ryan Joyce
James Wade v William O’Connor
Adam Hunt v Joe Murnan
Jamie Hughes v Martin Atkins (Wigan)
Jonathan Worsley v Jeff Smith
Mensur Suljovic v Mark McGeeney
Luke Humphries v Chris Dobey
Vincent van der Voort v Conan Whitehead
Carl Wilkinson v James Hubbard
Daryl Gurney v Andy Boulton
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Steve Brown
Jeffrey De Zwaan v Robert Thornton
Darren Webster v Ted Evetts
Ian White v Nathan Derry
Jan Dekker v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Steve Beaton v Kai Fan Leung
Luke Woodhouse v Arjan Konterman
Brendan Dolan v Adrian Gray
Robert Collins v Harald Leitinger
Gabriel Clemens v Nick Kenny
Vincent Van der Meer v Lisa Ashton
Peter Wright v Ron Meulenkamp
Derk TeInekes v Harry Ward
Kim Huybrechts v Jitse Van der Wal
James Wilson v Gary Blades
Rob Cross v Boris Krcmar
Bradley Brooks v Max Hopp
Jermaine Wattimena v Josh Payne
Simon Whitlock v Christian Bunse
Joe Cullen v Kirk Shepherd
Maik Kuivenhoven v Jason Lowe
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Andy Hamilton
Mike van Duivenbode v Karel Sedlacek
Glen Durrant v Steve Lennon
Alan Tabern v Scott Mitchell
Justin Pipe v Darren Penhall
Scott Waites v Benito van de Pas
Krzysztof Ratajski v Simon Stevenson
John Henderson v Krzysztof Kciuk
Ryan Searle v Aaron Beeney
Matthew Dennant v Martin Schindler
Michael Smith v Ryan Murray
Nathan Rafferty v Mervyn King
Adrian Lewis v Eddie Lovely
David Pallett v Gavin Carlin
Nathan Aspinall v Niels Zonneveld
Graham Usher v Ricky Evans
Gary Anderson v Matt Clark
Scott Baker v Richard North
Dave Chisnall v Jamie Lewis
Devon Petersen v Barrie Bates
Jonny Clayton v Ryan Meikle
Reece Robinson v Wayne Jones

First Round – Best of 11
Second Round – Best of 11
Third Round – Best of 11
Fourth Round – Best of 11
Quarter-Finals – Best of 11
Semi-Finals – Best of 13
Final – Best of 15

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV