PDC World Darts Championship Schedule Confirmed

Michael van Gerwen will kick-off the defence of his World Championship title on the opening night after the schedule for the sport’s premier event was confirmed.

As has become tradition, the world number one will meet either Jelle Klaasen or Kevin Burness on the last game of the opening night on Friday 13 December. Klaasen and Burness kick off the tournament, and therefore the winner of that game will be the only player to play two games in one session.

Kim Huybrechts, one of the more illustrious unseeded players, will also feature on the first day, against Geert Nentjes, with a closely-matched encounter between Luke Humphries and Devon Petersen completing the line-up.

From then, it’s straight into the first weekend with double sessions on both days. A rematch between Darius Labanauskas and Matthew Edgar is the lunchtime entertainment on the 14th, while Singaporean hero Paul Lim will take to the stage against the emerging Luke Woodhouse, who needs a run to secure his Tour Card.

Retiring legend Raymond van Barneveld meets Darin Young on the Saturday evening, as Jamie Hughes and Rob Cross also take to the stage.

Three-time Euro Tour winner Ian White headlines the afternoon session on the 15th, with Mikuru Suzuki making her PDC World Championship debut in the evening followed by Michael Smith against Woodhouse or Lim.

Young stars Callan Rydz and Keane Barry provide the appetiser for Gary Anderson against Brendan Dolan or Nitin Kumar on the first Monday, which precedes arguably the best day of the opening week or so.

José de Sousa v Damon Heta, the tie of the first round for many, takes place in the evening, with Reyes v Ilagan and Rodriguez v Malicdem giving an international feel to the afternoon. If that wasn’t enough, Krzysztof Ratajski is also in action as well as Fallon Sherrock’s Sky Sports bow and a potential meeting between Dutch duo Van Barneveld and Jeffrey de Zwaan.

The resurgent Stephen Bunting begins his campaign on Wednesday afternoon, while James Wade’s bow follows a potential all-German affair between Gabriel Clemens and Max Hopp in the evening.

Veterans John Henderson and Steve Beaton are in action in the first session on the 19th, after Ryan Joyce and Jan Dekker close out the first round. The tournament then starts to really ramp up, with Dave Chisnall and Gerwyn Price both playing that evening.

After four more seeds enter the fray on the Friday afternoon, the second session sees a superb combination of players with Max Hopp, Joe Cullen, Peter Wright and Nathan Aspinall all featuring.

Simon Whitlock, Adrian Lewis, Daryl Gurney and Glen Durrant all play on the 21st, the final day of the second round, before the last day before Christmas sees the beginning of the last 32.

That carries on until the 27th, with the following rounds usually played all on one day with the exception of New Year’s Eve before the grand final on New Year’s Day.


Jamie Cameron


Picture: Getty Images

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ +