Players Championship Finals Draw: Defending champion Van Gerwen faces Waites in battle of world champions

Defending Players Championship winner Michael van Gerwen will take on Scott Waites as the draw and field for the Players Championship Finals were confirmed.

The Winter Series in Coventry was the final chance for players to move into the top 64 on the Players Championship Order of Merit and book their place back at the Ricoh Arena at the end of the month.

It was a very close battle, with Ryan Meikle and Darren Webster finishing just £250 outside the qualification spots.

John Henderson and Darius Labanauskas snuck into the field, but with the way the draw works, they will play the top two seeds in Peter Wright and Gerwyn Price respectively.

Wright could face two-time world champion Adrian Lewis in the second round, should the reigning world champion overcome his fellow Scotsman Henderson.

Lewis, who made a semi-final and a quarter-final on the last two days of the Winter Series, has been handed a tricky tie with Jeff Smith, with Michael Smith, José de Sousa and Gary Anderson all in a difficult top quarter.

Winter Series table-topper Smith meets Belgium’s Mike De Decker, while Anderson plays debutant Martijn Kleermaker, with the pair potentially locking horns in round two.

Smith and Anderson could meet in round two (Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Meanwhile, the winner of an intriguing battle of world champions between Van Gerwen and Waites will meet either Jonny Clayton or Jamie Hughes in the second round.

Elsewhere in that bottom quarter of the draw, James Wade plays William Borland, in-form Brendan Dolan takes on Steve Beaton and Premier League champion Glen Durrant meets Steve Lennon.

Durrant could renew his rivalry with world number one Van Gerwen in the third round, should both players remain in the tournament at that particular hurdle.

Fourth seed Nathan Aspinall will play Karel Sedláček, with the potential for a tasty third round clash against Damon Heta should the Australian get past Wayne Jones then either Stephen Bunting or Mervyn King.

Krzysztof Ratajski is also in the second quarter against left-handed Dutchman Niels Zonneveld, with the winner of that playing Madars Razma or Kim Huybrechts.

Players Championship 23 winner Joe Cullen is up against Luke Woodhouse, Devon Petersen plays Jeffrey de Zwaan and Rob Cross takes on Derk Telnekes in the third quarter of the draw.

The tournament takes place from 27-29 November, with coverage broadcasted on ITV4 in the final tournament prior to the World Darts Championship.


November 27-29
Ricoh Arena, Coventry

Draw Bracket
Quarter One

Peter Wright (1) v John Henderson (64)
Adrian Lewis (32) v Jeff Smith (33)
Ryan Searle (16) v Callan Rydz (49)
Daryl Gurney (17) v Luke Humphries (48)
Michael Smith (8) v Mike De Decker (57)
Gary Anderson (25) v Martijn Kleermaker (40)
Jose de Sousa (9) v Adam Hunt (56)
Vincent van der Voort (24) v Keegan Brown (41)

Quarter Two
Nathan Aspinall (4) v Karel Sedlacek (61)
Ross Smith (29) v Mickey Mansell (36)
Damon Heta (13) v Wayne Jones (52)
Stephen Bunting (20) v Mervyn King (45)
Krzysztof Ratajski (5) v Niels Zonneveld (60)
Madars Razma (28) v Kim Huybrechts (37)
Danny Noppert (12) v Maik Kuivenhoven (53)
Dave Chisnall (21) v Andy Boulton (44)

Quarter Three
Gerwyn Price (2) v Darius Labanauskas (63)
Ricky Evans (31) v Simon Whitlock (34)
Jermaine Wattimena (15) v Dimitri Van den Bergh (50)
Devon Petersen (18) v Jeffrey de Zwaan (47)
Ian White (7) v Boris Krcmar (58)
Gabriel Clemens (26) v William O’Connor (39)
Joe Cullen (10) v Luke Woodhouse (55)
Rob Cross (23) v Derk Telnekes (42)

Quarter Four
Michael van Gerwen (3) v Scott Waites (62)
Jonny Clayton (30) v Jamie Hughes (35)
Glen Durrant (14) v Steve Lennon (51)
Mensur Suljovic (19) v Ryan Murray (46)
James Wade (6) v William Borland (59)
Dirk van Duijvenbode (27) v Chris Dobey (38)
Brendan Dolan (11) v Steve Beaton (54)
Ryan Joyce (22) v Jason Lowe (43)

Schedule of Play
Friday November 27
Afternoon Session (1pm GMT)

16 x Round One (two stages)

Evening Session (7pm GMT)
16 x Round One (two stages)

Saturday November 28
Afternoon Session (1pm GMT)

16 x Round Two (two stages)

Evening Session (7pm GMT)
8 x Round Three (two stages)

Sunday November 29
Afternoon Session (1pm GMT)

Quarter-Finals (one stage)

Evening Session (7pm GMT)
Semi-Finals & Final (one stage)

(Featured Image: Pro Sports Images)

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV