Polish Eagle Ratajski Swoops To PC17 Glory

Krzysztof Ratajksi captured his fourth PDC Title with an 8-3 victory over UK Open Champion, Nathan Aspinall, to win PC17 in Wigan.

The Polish Eagle was a model of consistency throughout the day, and fully merited the £10,000 first prize.

He was too good for “The Asp” in the final, gaining a stranglehold on the contest in building 4-0 and 5-1 leads.

Former Winmau World Master Ratajski had a scare in a 6-5 opening round win against Spaniard, Toni Alcinas, but ton plus averages in wins against Barrie Bates, Glen Durrant, and another last leg decider against Marko Kantele, impressively carried him through to the quarter finals.

He continued his eye catching form by hammering Jamie Hughes 6-0 in the last eight with a 100.2 average, and then accounted for James Wilson, 7-3 in the semi finals with a 101 average, before taking care of Aspinall in the final, averaging 98.7.

Aspinall can be happy with his days work, with wins against Gavin Carlin, Dave Prins, Corey Cadby, Gerwyn Price and Dimitri van den Bergh, before beating Ron Meulenkamp 7-5 in the semi finals.

It was also a welcome return to form for the aforementioned James Wilson, who did his World Matchplay chances the power of good with a run to the final four.


There was more nine dart magic in Lancashire as Dimitri van den Berg produced the perfect leg in his 6-3 last 64 win against John Henderson.

There were big name exits in round one, as Ian White bowed out 6-4 to Shaun Carroll, who was a replacement for the withdrawn Gary Anderson. James Wade was dumped out 6-4 by Luke Humphries, with the Newbury man making a welcome quarter final, before succumbing to “Jammy Dodger” Wilson, 6-4. Simon Whitlock was hammered 6-1 by the emerging Portuguese talent, Jose de Sousa.

Boris Koltsov reached the last eight, accounting for Jermaine Wattimena, Michael Smith and Jelle Klassen, before losing out 6-2 to Ron Meulenkamp in the quarters.



About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV