Race to World Matchplay: Joyce mounts charge after lifting maiden crown in Milton Keynes

Ryan Joyce mounted his charge towards a Betfred World Matchplay debut on Thursday as he scooped a maiden PDC ranking title in Milton Keynes.

Joyce, the current world number 42, defeated Dave Chisnall in a thrilling final to pocket the £10,000 winner’s cheque and provisionally secure his place in the prestigious 32-player staging.

Following his triumphant campaign on Thursday afternoon, Joyce surpassed a number of World Matchplay hopefuls as he climbed up the PDC ProTour Order of Merit.

“I haven’t been thinking about the World Matchplay,” Joyce admitted to pdc.tv following his success. “I’ve got to take it one game at a time over the next three days and see how I play, so I’ll go into Friday with the same mentality.”

Krzysztof Ratajski in action during last year’s World Matchplay (Photography: Chris Sargeant)

Meanwhile, reigning Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion Krzysztof Ratajski leapfrogged former major champion Simon Whitlock to become the tentative 13th seed for the upcoming tournament.

‘The Polish Eagle’ has soared up the world rankings in recent years, and could potentially lock horns with world number three Gerwyn Price on his second World Matchplay appearance.

Ratajski could continue his rapid rise in the coming days as he sits just over £2,000 below two-time world champion Adrian Lewis in the current PDC Order of Merit.

Ryan Searle and Kim Huybrechts moved out of the provisional World Matchplay field at the hands of both Joyce and Ricky Evans, meaning those two have work to do throughout the remainder of the Summer Series.

The PDC Summer Series continues on Friday before entering its latter stages on Saturday and Sunday.

Following the conclusion of the five-day staging, the World Matchplay field will be confirmed prior to the draw taking place on Sunday evening and conducted by commentators Dan Dawson and Paul Nicholson.


PDC Order of Merit
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,516,750
2 Peter Wright £914,250
3 Gerwyn Price £797,500
4 Rob Cross £540,750
5 Michael Smith £517,000
6 Nathan Aspinall £471,250
7 Daryl Gurney £443,000
8 Gary Anderson £434,750
9 James Wade £407,250
10 Dave Chisnall £380,750
11 Ian White £352,750
12 Mensur Suljovic £314,250
13 Adrian Lewis £248,750
14 Krzysztof Ratajski £246,000
15 Simon Whitlock £245,250
16 Glen Durrant £245,000
17 Stephen Bunting £227,750
18 Joe Cullen £223,500
19 Jonny Clayton £221,750
20 Chris Dobey £219,750
21 Jeffrey de Zwaan £211,250

PDC ProTour Order of Merit
1 Joe Cullen £55,250
2 Brendan Dolan £38,500
3 Danny Noppert £33,500
4 Jose de Sousa £31,000
5 Jermaine Wattimena £30,500
6 Gabriel Clemens £28,750
7 Jonny Clayton £27,500
8 Ryan Joyce £25,250
9 Jeffrey de Zwaan £25,000
10 Jamie Hughes £24,250
11 Justin Pipe £24,000
12 Steve Beaton £23,000
13 Vincent van der Voort £22,750
14 Keegan Brown £22,250
15 Dimitri Van den Bergh £22,000
16 Ricky Evans £20,500
17 Ryan Searle £20,000
18 Kim Huybrechts £19,250
19 Steve West £19,000
20 Luke Humphries £18,000
21 John Henderson £17,750

Click here for the updated Race to the World Matchplay standings in full

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV