Razma produces career-best display while Lynn edges out Dobey in Copenhagen

Madars Razma and Darius Labanauskas were the only Scandinavian representatives to get through while Barry Lynn ended Chris Dobey’s hopes in Copenhagen.

Denmark, specifically the Brondbyhallen in Copenhagen, will be hosting the inaugural Danish Darts Open this weekend as PDC darts returns to Denmark for the first time since 2001. Wayne Mardle saw off Finland’s Jarkko Kormula in that particular event.

Madars Razma, a tour card holder from Latvia, qualified outright for the inaugural Danish Darts Open this weekend as the highest ranked Scandinavian thrower on the PDC ranking system.

Razma didn’t disappoint as a recorded a career-best 104.86 en route to whitewashing Jeffrey de Zwaan in the final game of the afternoon session in Copenhagen. Razma got off to a flying start in what on paper would be a tough tussle with his Dutch opponent as he fired in a 12-darter and 130 checkout in the opening leg.

It was plain-sailing after taking a 1-0 lead for the 29-year-old as he reeled off the remaining five legs in just 74 darts. The Latvian, nicknamed ‘Razmatazz’, will face a tough second round opponent in Austrian Darts Open semi-finalist Joe Cullen.

Razma’s victory came just hours after fellow Scandinavian representative Darius Labanauskas joined the winner’s enclosure following a 6-5 win over World Matchplay hopeful Richard North. The Lithuanian pinned just one maximum and six of his 22 attempts at the outer ring, though, it was enough to send North back down south to Hampshire.

Labanauskas, who has been enjoying some incredible form on the PDC Nordic and Baltic tour and currently sits at the pinnacle of the rankings table, setup a second round clash with the Austrian Darts Open winner Jonny Clayton tomorrow in Copenhagen. Labanauskas will be looking to match his previous performance in Denmark when he reached the final of the opening Nordic and Baltic event of the campaign.

Barry Lynn, who rose upon the scene back in 2016 as he reached the quarter-finals at the Coral UK Open, sent Chris Dobey packing in the opening round at the Brondbyhallen. Lynn was only stopped by the eventual winner and world number one Michael van Gerwen during his UK Open run two years ago but has struggled to find the consistency which is needed to earn a tour card.

Lynn, 31, became the first amateur quarter-finalist at the UK Open after coming through a Riley’s qualifying event in South Bensfleet. Apart from qualifying for the BDO World Trophy and winning a Challenge Tour event in 2016, Lynn has shown little to no form in the PDC, however has been patient and has been awarded with his first appearance on the European Tour for four years this weekend in Copenhagen.

Lynn produced a finishing masterclass during his 6-4 win over Chris Dobey, hitting six of his nine attempts at the outer ring. The Essex thrower also pinned a 106 outshot en route to his maiden victory on the continent and a second round encounter with Peter Wright.

Ryan Joyce produced a solid display, which featured an impressive 132 checkout, to excel a 6-2 triumph of the reigning Winmau World Master Krzysztof Ratajski while Paul Nicholson’s Matchplay hopes became extinct after suffering a 6-4 defeat at the hands of Huddersfield’s Peter Jacques.

Scott Taylor, a finalist on the ProTour this year, came through a scrappy affair with former World Grand Prix winner Robert Thornton while Jelle Klaasen also came through a last leg decider against Mickey Mansell, despite missing 19 darts at double.

Adrian Lewis eased through to the second round after comfortable seeing off Development Tour table-topper Ted Evetts 6-4 in Copenhagen. Courtesy of his first round win over Evetts, Lewis setup a mouth-watering second round tie with German Darts Open finalist Michael Smith.

Elsewhere, Danish hopes were destroyed on the opening day in Copenhagen as both Brain Løkken and veteran Per Laursen suffered first round exits at the hands of Cristo Reyes and Steve West. Laursen put up a fight against his English opponent as he pinned a stunning 142 outshot in the sixth leg of the clash to level it up at 3-3.

Jermaine Wattimena continued his sublime form from last weekend’s Players Championship double, where he reached back-to-back semi-finals. The Dutchman added another £2,000 to his ever-growing career earnings tally courtesy of a 6-5 win over Wayne Jones. Wattimena averaged 96.43 and converted a 122 checkout en route to arranging a second round clash with Simon Whitlock in Denmark.

The reigning JDC World Champion Rusty-Jake Rodriguez enjoyed a last leg deciding victory over Irishman William O’Connor while Brendan Dolan denied a 95.12 average from Martin Schindler to book his place in the second round of action.

Steve Beaton, who was a finalist at last year’s Dutch Darts Masters, denied Adam Huckvale a second successive first round victory on the European Tour as he blew away the Leigh-based ace. Beaton averaged 100.47, hit half of his attempts at double and pinned a 101 checkout en route to setting up a second round clash with Rob Cross – who is still searching for his maiden European Tour crown.

Max Hopp eventually came through the battle of the Germans in Copenhagen as he fought back from 3-1 down to setup a second round clash with his nemesis Mervyn King while ‘Rapid’ Ricky Evans was also forced to fight back after trailing 4-0 to Dennis Nilsson. Nilsson was one of three Scandinavian throwers to suffer a first round exit at the inaugural Danish Darts Open.

The action will resume from 12pm and is available to view on PDCTV and various bookmakers sites across the world.

Danish Darts Open

Friday June 22
First Round
Afternoon Session
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-5 William O’Connor
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Martin Schindler
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Wayne Jones
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Richard North
Steve Beaton 6-2 Adam Huckvale
Barry Lynn 6-5 Chris Dobey
Madars Razma 6-0 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Evening Session
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Scott Taylor 6-5 Robert Thornton
Steve West 6-4 Per Laursen
Peter Jacques 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Ricky Evans 6-4 Dennis Nilsson
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Ted Evetts
Cristo Reyes 6-2 Brian Lokken
Max Hopp 6-4 Dragutin Horvat

Saturday June 23
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)
John Henderson v Brendan Dolan
Joe Cullen v Madars Razma
Gerwyn Price v Jelle Klaasen
Jonny Clayton v Darius Labanauskas
James Wade v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Darren Webster v Cristo Reyes
Simon Whitlock v Jermaine Wattimena
Stephen Bunting v Peter Jacques

Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)
Mervyn King v Max Hopp
Mensur Suljovic v Ryan Joyce
Peter Wright v Barry Lynn
Michael Smith v Adrian Lewis
Rob Cross v Steve Beaton
Daryl Gurney v Ricky Evans
Michael van Gerwen v Scott Taylor
Ian White v Steve West

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV