Republic of Ireland Topple England, Australia Stunned

The evening session of round two at the BetVictor World Cup of Darts saw England crash out of the tournament.

An inspired Steve Lennon and William O’Connor stunned Michael Smith and Rob Cross with a 2-0 win.

After Lennon edged Smith 4-3, O’Connor averaged over 115 in a shock 4-1 win over 2018 World Champion Cross. It was a fantastic win for the Irish, who will now consider themselves real dark horses to lift the trophy come Sunday night. They will now meet Austria in the quarter finals.

In another shock, Canada dumped Australia out of the event with a 2-0 win.

Dawson Murshell and Jim Long recorded 4-3 victories over Simon Whitlock and Kyle Anderson respectively, to render the doubles unnecessary.

Canada’s opponents in the last eight will be The Netherlands, and the Dutch are serenely gliding through the competition, as they also enjoyed a whitewash win over Poland.

Michael Van Gerwen saw off Krzysztof Ratajski 4-2, and Jermaine Wattimena overcame Tytus Kanik 4-1 to book the Dutchmen’s place in the last eight.

Austria completed a routine win against the USA with a 2-0 win.

Zoran Lerchbacher beat Darin Young 4-1, before team captain, Mensur Suljovic thrashed Chuck Puleo 4-0.

2019 BetVictor World Cup of Darts
Saturday June 8
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

New Zealand 2-1 South Africa
Singles One: Cody Harris 4-0 Vernon Bouwers
Singles Two: Haupai Puha 0-4 Devon Petersen
Doubles: New Zealand 4-2 South Africa

Japan 2-0 Singapore
Singles One: Seigo Asada 4-3 Paul Lim
Singles Two: Haruki Muramatsu 4-2 Harith Lim

Scotland 2-0 Sweden
Singles One: Gary Anderson 4-0 Magnus Caris
Singles Two: Peter Wright 4-2 Dennis Nilsson

Belgium 2-0 Germany
Singles One: Kim Huybrechts 4-3 Martin Schindler
Singles Two: Dimitri Van den Bergh 4-0 Max Hopp
Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Canada 2-0 Australia
Singles One: Dawson Murschell 4-3 Simon Whitlock
Singles Two: Jim Long 4-3  Kyle Anderson

Austria 2-0 USA
Singles One: Zoran Lerchbacher 4-1 Darin Young
Singles Two: Mensur Suljovic 4-0 Chuck Puleo

Republic of Ireland 2-0 England
Singles One: Steve Lennon 4-3 Michael Smith
Singles Two: William O’Connor 4-1 Rob Cross

Netherlands 2-0 Poland
Singles One: Michael van Gerwen 4-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
Singles Two: Jermaine Wattimena 4-1 Tytus Kanik

Sunday 9 June – Order of Play
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

New Zealand v Japan
Scotland v Belgium
Republic of Ireland v Austria
Canada v Netherlands

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV