Riley’s UK Open Qualifiers confirmed: Taylor and Newton among 16 heading to Minehead

Scott Taylor and Wes Newton headline the confirmed 16 Riley’s Amateur UK Open Qualifiers after the events held up and down the country over the last month or so.

Taylor and Newton will be joined by Michael Burgoine, Mark Barilli, Ian McFarlane, Andy Jenkins, Chris Lacey, Daniel Day and Barry Lynn in returning to the UK Open stage, while Lee Harris, Shaun Fox, Kevin Thoburn, Lloyd Browning, Robert Collins, Callan Rydz and Brian Raman will also make their debuts at the 160 man tournament.

Barry Lynn made a headlining run at the UK Open back in 2016 as he stunned two-time World Champion, Gary Anderson, en route to the quarter-finals of the tournament. He came through the Riley’s Harlow qualifier, denying former World Championship finalist, Kevin Painter, in the final to seal his Butlins, Minehead return.

Daniel Day, a two-time Lakeside World Championship competitor, clinched his return as he came through the Riley’s Norwich qualifier at his second attempt, while Belgium’s Brian Raman was the only non-UK citizen to pick up a Riley’s qualification spot.

Andy Jenkins will appear in his 14th UK Open after coming out victorious in South Bensfleet, while five-time UK Open participant, Mark Barilli, will appear his sixth UK Open after coming through his hometown of Greenock.

The 16 Riley’s Amateur Qualifiers will enter the field of the play in the first round on Friday, as the Ladbrokes UK Open gets underway at Butlins Resort in Minehead.

2019 Ladbrokes UK Open
Rileys Amateur Qualifiers
Saturday January 26 – London Victoria – Michael Burgoine
Saturday January 26 – Norwich – Shaun Fox
Saturday January 26 – Wolverhampton – Lee Harris
Saturday February 2 – Chester – Scott Taylor
Saturday February 2 – Chorlton – Wes Newton
Saturday February 2 – Greenock – Mark Barilli
Saturday February 2 – Nottingham – Kevin Thoburn
Saturday February 2 – Worcester – Lloyd Browning
Sunday February 3 – Coventry – Ian McFarlane
Saturday February 9 – South Benfleet – Andy Jenkins
Saturday February 16 – Sheffield – Chris Lacey
Sunday February 17 – London Victoria – Robbie Collins
Saturday February 23 – Harlow – Barry Lynn
Saturday February 23 – Norwich – Daniel Day
Saturday February 23 – Wolverhampton – Callan Rydz
Sunday February 24 – Liverpool – Brian Raman

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV