Sherrock and Ashton clinch titles on dramatic final day at PDC Women’s Series

Fallon Sherrock and Lisa Ashton reigned victorious on Sunday afternoon in Barnsley as the inaugural PDC Women’s Series reached its conclusion.

It was a drama-filled afternoon in South Yorkshire, with Ashton and veteran Deta Hedman securing spots at the World Darts Championship in December.

Ashton doubled her Women’s Series title tally to move on the brink of an Alexandra Palace return, defeating two-time women’s world master Hedman in the Event Three final.

‘The Lancashire Rose’ commenced her campaign with comfortable victories over both Anca Zijlstra and Margaret Sutton, before averaging 85.7 in beating teenage sensation Beau Greaves 6-2.

Ashton was then forced to battle back from 3-0 behind to see off the impressive Vicky Pruim, reeling off four legs in succession and averaging 90 in a resurgent display.

A stunning 106 checkout then booked Ashton’s place in the final as she denied former Women’s World Championship finalist Corrine Hammond in a deciding leg thriller.

Ashton proceeded to come from 2-1 adrift in the final against Hedman, converting mesmerising checkouts of 102 and 136 to trouser her second £1,000 cheque.

Afterwards, Fallon Sherrock breezed to victory in Event Four to claim her maiden professional accolade, defeating Australian Hammond 6-2 in a one-sided final.

Sherrock, who became the first female thrower to surpass the first round of the World Championship in December, dropped a mere six legs on her way to reigning supreme.

‘The Queen of the Palace’ received the heartbreaking news that she could no longer make her Alexandra Palace return halfway through the tournament, but that failed to stop her sealing the spoils.

She eased into the last eight, dropping just one leg in thrashing Claire Stamper, Robyn Byrne and Natalie Gilbert, before gaining revenge on 61-year-old Hedman in the quarter-finals.

Two-time event winner Ashton was subsequently handed a 5-1 thrashing in the last four by a rampant Sherrock – who averaged a respectable 86.6 and executed five of her nine attempts on the doubles.

Sherrock then pinned impressive checkouts of 85, 110 and 130 whilst emphatically overcoming Hammond in the final, and becoming the third winner of a Women’s Series crown.

The 26-year-old was denied a place in December’s World Championship due to Hedman having won more legs, with the pair tied on both earnings and matches won.

Hammond, meanwhile, clinched a top four finish by virtue of a superb run to the final, conceding a mere three legs en route and seeing off the likes of Lorraine Winstanley, Laura Turner and Sherrock’s twin sister Felicia Blay.


Sunday October 18
Barnsley Metrodome

Event Four
Last 16

Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Casey Gallagher
Deta Hedman 4-0 Donna Gleed
Tracy North 4-0 Robyn Byrne
Aileen de Graaf 4-1 Katie Sheldon
Jo Clements 4-3 Felicia Blay
Corrine Hammond 4-0 Louise Pearson
Vicky Pruim 4-2 Maria O’Brien
Lisa Ashton 4-2 Beau Greaves

Deta Hedman 4-3 Fallon Sherrock
Tracy North 4-2 Aileen de Graaf
Corinne Hammond 4-1 Jo Clements
Lisa Ashton 4-3 Vicky Pruim

Deta Hedman 5-0 Tracy North
Lisa Ashton 5-4 Corinne Hammond

Lisa Ashton 6-3 Deta Hedman

Click here for full results and statistics from Event Three via the DartConnect system

Event Four
Last 16

Fallon Sherrock 4-1 Natalie Gilbert
Deta Hedman 4-2 Rhian O’Sullivan
Lisa Ashton 4-2 Aileen de Graaf
Eleanor Cairns 4-1 Evonne Taylor
Corinne Hammond 4-0 Felicia Blay
Lorraine Winstanley 4-0 Margaret Sutton
Laura Turner 4-3 Tracey Davies
Maria O’Brien 4-1 Tracy North

Fallon Sherrock 4-2 Deta Hedman
Lisa Ashton 4-0 Eleanor Cairns
Corinne Hammond 4-2 Lorraine Winstanley
Laura Turner 4-1 Maria O’Brien

Fallon Sherrock 5-1 Lisa Ashton
Corinne Hammond 5-1 Laura Turner

Fallon Sherrock 6-2 Corinne Hammond

Click here for full results and statistics from Event Four via the DartConnect system

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV