Austria’s Suljovic withdraws from Players Championship Finals and is replaced by Webster

Mensur Suljović has withdrawn from this weekend’s Players Championship Finals due to a family bereavement.

The Austrian, who recently dropped out of the top 16, will be replaced directly in the draw by Darren Webster, with ‘The Demolition Man’ now set to face Jeffrey de Zwaan at the Ricoh Arena on Friday.

Suljović made a final and a semi-final in Players Championship events this year, which ensured he qualified for the finals as 19th seed.

The withdrawal means that ‘The Gentle’ won’t play in the tournament for the second time in three years after withdrawing in 2018.

Should he play in the World Championship, that will be his first event since the World Cup of Darts after opting not to play in the Winter Series and failing to qualify for the Grand Slam.

The Players Championship Finals take place from 27-29 November at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry, away from Butlin’s Minehead Resort for the first time in nine years.


Draw Bracket
(1) Peter Wright v (64) Ryan Meikle
(32) Adrian Lewis v (33) Simon Whitlock
(16) Ryan Searle v (49) Dimitri Van den Bergh
(17) Daryl Gurney v (48) Callan Rydz
(8) Michael Smith v (57) Boris Krcmar
(25) Gary Anderson v (40) Keegan Brown
(9) Jose De Sousa v (56) Mike De Decker
(24) Vincent van der Voort v (41) Derk Telnekes
(4) Nathan Aspinall v (61) Scott Waites
(29) Ross Smith v (36) Kim Huybrechts
(13) Damon Heta v (52) Maik Kuivenhoven
(20) Stephen Bunting v (45) Ryan Murray
(5) Krzysztof Ratajski v (60) Karel Sedlacek
(28) Madars Razma v (37) Chris Dobey
(12) Danny Noppert v (53) Steve Beaton
(21) Dave Chisnall v (44) Mervyn King
(2) Gerwyn Price v (63) John Henderson
(31) Ricky Evans v (34) Jamie Hughes
(15) Jermaine Wattimena v (50) Steve Lennon
(18) Devon Petersen v (47) Luke Humphries
(7) Ian White v (58) William Borland
(26) Gabriel Clemens v (39) Martijn Kleermaker
(10) Joe Cullen v (55) Adam Hunt
(23) Rob Cross v (42) Jason Lowe
(3) Michael van Gerwen v (62) Darius Labanauskas
(30) Jonny Clayton v (35) Mickey Mansell
(14) Glen Durrant v (51) Wayne Jones
Darren Webster v (46) Jeffrey de Zwaan
(6) James Wade v (59) Niels Zonneveld
(27) Dirk van Duijvenbode v (38) William O’Connor
(11) Brendan Dolan v (54) Luke Woodhouse
(22) Ryan Joyce v (43) Andy Boulton

(Featured Image: Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics)

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV