Taylor and Smith-Neale announce UK Open return with Rileys Amateur Qualifier victories

Scott Taylor and Adam Smith-Neale secured their Ladbrokes UK Open return after coming through qualifiers held in Chorlton and Coventry on Saturday.

Taylor, who will represent the Rileys Sports Bars for a second successive year at the UK Open after winning through in Chester last time around, will make his fourth UK Open appearance.

The Bolton-based thrower defeated Carl Batchelor in the semi-finals, before narrowly denying Rob Collins in the final to seal his place at Butin’s Minehead Resort in March.

Collins, who made his PDC ProTour debut on Sunday in Wigan, defeated last year’s Chorlton qualifier Wes Newton in the last four.

Meanwhile, BDO World Championship qualifier Adam Smith-Neale pulled off an impressive victory over UK Open regular Paul Hogan and Oxfordshire’s Tom Baughan to reign victorious at Rileys Coventry.

The 26-year-old will make his second appearance and first since the 2012 UK Open – the same tournament in which three-time world champion Glen Durrant featured as a Rileys Amateur qualifier and the aforementioned Taylor made his major debut.

Smith-Neale and Taylor will both now head to Minehead from March 6-8, joining an additional 14 Rileys amateur qualifiers, eight Development Tour qualifiers, eight Challenge Tour and the 128 tour card holders.

The Rileys Amateur qualifiers resume on Saturday across the country, with knockouts taking place in Nottingham, Sheffield, South Benfleet and Wolverhampton.

Mr UK Open himself, Paul Hogan, is still vying to earn his place at Butin’s Minehead Resort, and will supposedly head to South Benfleet on Saturday – a venue in which he has reigned supreme previously.

Ladbrokes UK Open
Rileys Amateur Qualifiers

Saturday January 25 – London Victoria (Jason Heaver)
Saturday February 1 – Aberdeen (Jamie Clark)
Saturday February 1 – Chester (Adam Huckvale)
Saturday February 1 – Norwich (Kelvin Self)
Saturday February 1 – Wolverhampton (Fallon Sherrock)
Saturday February 8 – Chorlton (Scott Taylor)
Saturday February 8 – Coventry (Adam Smith-Neale)
Saturday February 15 – Nottingham
Saturday February 15 – Sheffield
Saturday February 15 – South Benfleet
Sunday February 16 – Wolverhampton
Saturday February 22 – Greenock
Saturday February 22 – Harlow
Saturday February 22 – Liverpool
Saturday February 22 – Norwich
Saturday February 22 – London Victoria

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ +