Van den Bergh and De Sousa to make debuts in delayed Premier League

Dimitri Van den Bergh and José de Sousa have been selected for Premier League Darts duties, although the start of the tournament has been delayed until Easter.

The pair will make their debuts in the world’s biggest invitational event after winning the World Matchplay and Grand Slam of Darts respectively, but will have to wait a bit longer to take to the oche in the tournament due to current coronavirus restrictions.

Only nine players have initially been invited, with the tenth to be confirmed following the Masters. That adds an extra incentive to that upcoming tournament for the likes of James Wade, Michael Smith and Dave Chisnall, who may have been considered for selection.

However, that news does mean that the ‘contenders’ format will come to an end after two relatively successful years, with two players eliminated on Judgement Night.

Reigning champion Glen Durrant will make a second appearance in the competition along with the man he beat in the final, Nathan Aspinall.

Meanwhile, Michael van Gerwen and Peter Wright both look to put disappointment at Alexandra Palace behind them as they extend their consecutive streaks in the Premier League to 9 and 8 respectively.

The line-up is completed by the two World Championship finalists Gerwyn Price and Gary Anderson, and world number four Rob Cross, who retains his place despite a poor season.


Selected Players
Gerwyn Price
Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Rob Cross
Gary Anderson
Glen Durrant
Nathan Aspinall
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jose de Sousa

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV