Van Gerwen lifts 25th European Tour title with victory over Lewis

Michael Van Gerwen lifted his record breaking 25th European Tour title with an 8-3 win over Adrian Lewis this evening at the Victoria Stadium in Gibraltar.

The world number one backed up his recent Betway World Cup of Darts and Unibet Premier League victories with his 14th singles win of the year as he picked up another £25,000 winner’s cheque on the European Tour.

Van Gerwen was unstoppable in Gibraltar as he witnessed the resurgent Adrian Lewis reach his first European Tour final for six years and his third ProTour final of this year. ‘Mighty Mike’ blew away Lewis in the final as he averaged 108.13, pinned four maximums and converted eight of his 12 attempts at double in a sensational showing.

Van Gerwen opened his campaign on Saturday evening as he tracked back from 4-2 down to defeat his good friend Vincent Van der Voort. Wins over Andy Boulton and Austrian Darts Open winner Jonny Clayton put Van Gerwen in to the semi-finals – where he saw off an injured Steve West before thrashing Lewis in the final to win the Gibraltar Darts Trophy for a third time.

‘Mighty Mike’ ensured that he is well on course to break his record of 26 titles in one calendar year after setting that record back in 2016. The Dutchman left Gibraltar with a tournament average of 104.37 as he lifted his 107th career PDC crown and he is still yet to reach the age of 30.

Van Gerwen, who already has his sights set on the Phil Taylor Trophy, said following his 25th European Tour title: “I can’t complain with my performance in Gibraltar and I think I have earned myself a good holiday.

“The big one is the World Matchplay which I have my eye on, but first of all I will be focussed on the European Tour events in Copenhagen and Hamburg.

“I like to play in European Tour events, I feel good playing in them – my confidence is there and I feel good so I think they will do well to beat me.

“I played phenomenal in this tournament, I didn’t make any mistakes.”

Adrian Lewis reached his third ProTour final of the year and his first European Tour title since his title winning tournament six years ago in Germany as he picked up £10,000 runners-up fund in Gibraltar. Lewis, a former back-to-back World Champion, suffered a rapid drop down the rankings following his defeat to Kevin Munch at Alexandra Palace and will be looking to work his way back up the ladder following his resurgent display at the home of ‘The Rock’.

Despite having won mass amounts of titles within the PDC, Lewis had to come through a qualifier to even make the sixth edition of the Gibraltar Darts Trophy at a leisure centre in the North of England.

Lewis enjoyed wins over 19-year-old debutant Clayton Otton, Mensur Suljovic, James Wade, Peter Wright and Paul Nicholson en route to the final – where he suffered a heavy defeat to the world number one.

Lewis’ third round clash with James Wade was a repeat of the 2012 World Championship semi-final and was a match suitable for any stage with both players averaging over the 105 mark and hitting 50% of their attempts at the outer ring.

Following the final, a resurgent Lewis said: “Obviously I’m disappointed not to win but fair play to Michael there. I missed a couple of shots early doors and he does what he does, that’s why he’s world number one.”

Paul Nicholson continued his resurgence in Gibraltar as reached his first quarter-final since the 2014 Perth Darts Masters and his first semi-final since a title-wining Players Championship in 2013. Nicholson, who said during his time at the Victoria Stadium that he is looking to join the likes of Peter Wright and Gary Anderson in playing their best darts in their 40s, relished wins over ever-present Antony Lopez, Dave Chisnall, Joe Cullen and Gerwyn Price before being edged out in a last leg shootout by Adrian Lewis.

‘The Asset’ survived match darts in both of his matches with Joe Cullen and Gerwyn Price as he took his chances at the right times in both matches. Nicholson pinned a crucial 121 checkout in the fourth leg against Cullen and averaged 98.82, hit 54.55% of his attempts at double and hit checkouts of 121 and 128 during his semi-final defeat to Adrian Lewis.

Steve West also endured a run to the semi-finals in Gibraltar while all four host nation qualifiers suffered opening round defeats at the Victoria Stadium.

The stars will fly back to England for this weekend’s £75,000 ProTour events in Wigan while the European Tour will return on the 22nd of June as the inaugural Danish Darts Open takes place in Copenhagen.

2018 Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Friday June 8
First Round
Afternoon Session
Michael Barnard 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf
Brendan Dolan 6-4 James Wilson
Mike De Decker 6-5 Matt Padgett
Andy Boulton 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Hannes Schnier 6-2 Roy Asquez
Steve West 6-3 Toni Alcinas
Ross Smith 6-3 Jamie Lewis

Evening Session
Adam Huckvale 6-3 Richie Burnett
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Robert Thornton
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Barrie Bates
Paul Nicholson 6-0 Antony Lopez
Max Hopp 6-0 Mark Dudbridge
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Tony Dawkins
Chris Dobey 6-2 Steve Lennon
Adrian Lewis 6-0 Clayton Otton

Saturday June 9
Second Round
Afternoon Session
Andy Boulton 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Mike De Decker
Steve West 6-5 Darren Webster
James Wade 6-5 Ross Smith
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Adam Huckvale
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Hannes Schnier
Max Hopp 6-4 Ian White
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Brendan Dolan

Evening Session
Joe Cullen 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Michael Smith
Rob Cross 6-5 Cristo Reyes
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Chris Dobey 6-3 Mervyn King
Peter Wright 6-2 Michael Barnard

Sunday June 10
Afternoon Session
Third Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Andy Boulton
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Max Hopp
Steve West 6-1 Daryl Gurney
Rob Cross 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Paul Nicholson 6-5 Joe Cullen
Adrian Lewis 6-5 James Wade
Peter Wright 6-1 Chris Dobey

Evening Session
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Steve West 6-5 Rob Cross
Paul Nicholson 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Steve West
Adrian Lewis 7-6 Paul Nicholson

Michael van Gerwen 8-3 Adrian Lewis

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ +