World Grand Prix Draw: Defending champion Van Gerwen to face Ratajski

The draw for next week’s World Grand Prix has been made ahead of the tournament’s debut in Coventry, and it has thrown up some fascinating clashes.

With only the top eight seeded, there is always the possibility of plenty of tough draws and this year is no different at the double-start event.

Defending champion Michael van Gerwen plays Krzysztof Ratajski, with the winner to take on in-form José de Sousa or German Darts Champion Devon Petersen.

Premier League stars face off as Rob Cross plays Gary Anderson, while two-time runner-up Dave Chisnall and 2019 semi-finalist Glen Durrant also go head-to-head over the best of three sets.

The other first-round match including two top-16 players is between Michael Smith and Dimitri Van den Bergh.

For the other top players, Peter Wright takes on Ryan Joyce, Gerwyn Price looks to end Jermaine Wattimena’s World Cup hopes and Nathan Aspinall meets debutant Gabriel Clemens.

Adrian Lewis snuck into the field, and he has been drawn against Chris Dobey, with James Wade and Mervyn King also in that section after enjoying deep runs in Hildesheim at the weekend.

Former quarter-finalist Kim Huybrechts was the final qualifier from the ProTour list. ‘The Hurricane’ will play Brendan Dolan in Coventry.

Out of the other debutants, Dirk van Duijvenbode has a tough assignment against Grand Prix specialist Mensur Suljović and Ryan Searle takes on the in-form Danny Noppert.

2018 champion Daryl Gurney meets Joe Cullen in the first round, with the winner to play Jonny Clayton or Ian White. Finally, Jamie Hughes faces Stephen Bunting.

The tournament runs from 6-12 October at the Ricoh Arena for a total prize fund of £450,000.


Draw bracket
(1) Michael van Gerwen v Krzysztof Ratajski
José de Sousa v Devon Petersen
(8) James Wade v Mervyn King
Adrian Lewis v Chris Dobey
(4) Michael Smith v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mensur Suljović v Dirk van Duijvenbode
(5) Rob Cross v Gary Anderson
Danny Noppert v Ryan Searle
(2) Peter Wright v Ryan Joyce
Dave Chisnall v Glen Durrant
(7) Daryl Gurney v Joe Cullen
Jonny Clayton v Ian White
(3) Gerwyn Price v Jermaine Wattimena
Brendan Dolan v Kim Huybrechts
(6) Nathan Aspinall v Gabriel Clemens
Jamie Hughes v Stephen Bunting

by Jamie Cameron

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV