Van Gerwen Wins The Ninth Players Championship Event of The Year With Final Victory Over Taylor

Michael Van Gerwen claimed his ninth title of the year and his 106th PDC title as he beat Scott Taylor in the final of the ninth Players Championship event of year in Barnsley.

Van Gerwen was in Premier League action on Thursday evening as he claimed back-to-back victories in Manchester. ‘Mighty Mike’ returned to the ProTour this weekend following his break last weekend in Austria.

The former two-time World Championship winner began the day in scintillating form as he averaged over 105 in a 6-2 victory over Welshman Jamie Lewis.

Darren Johnson was next to fall to the number one seed before victories over Jermaine Wattimena and Simon Whitlock secured his place in the quarter-finals at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Van Gerwen saw off last week’s Austrian Darts Open champion Jonny Clayton before booking his place in the final with a 6-4 win over James Wade.

‘Mighty Mike’ faced Scott Taylor in the final. Taylor had not reached a PDC senior quarter-final before the action in Barnsley but conquered the field to book his place in the final two.

Taylor began the day with wins over Davy Van Baelan, Wayne Jones and Steve Beaton before producing a stunning 108 average in a 6-1 rout of Steve West.

A marvelous maiden win over Gary Anderson and a 6-3 win over Jason Lowe, who saw off Adrian Lewis in the previous round, setup a final encounter with the green machine.

The first nine legs went with throw in a thrilling final but Van Gerwen broke at a vital time in the final before pinning a 132 checkout to claim his ninth title of the year.

“Overall I did a good job and I think I was a worthy champion today,” said Van Gerwen, whose average exceeded 100 over the course of the day.

“At the start of the day I played quite well although after that it got a bit sloppy, but a win is a win and it doesn’t matter how you win.

“Sometimes you need to survive a day like this and it was about doing the right things at the right moments.
“Scott did really well today so I want to say well done to him. It’s tough playing here, you have to play well every game.

“I want to add to my nine titles so far this year starting tomorrow.”

Ryan Joyce, who switched over from the BDO circuit earlier this year, continued his streak of reaching the board final in every appearence he has made a Players Championship event.

Rob Cross and Peter Wright were both dumped out in the last 16 while Michael Smith exited the Barnsley Metrodome in the second round after an agonising defeat to Jan Dekker.

The Players Championship action will return tomorrow at 12pm as 128 players look to place their name on the ProTour role of honour and claim £25,000 in prize money.

Photography courtesy of Lawrence Lustig / PDC

Players Championship Nine

Saturday April 28, Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan
Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Simon Whitlock
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Ian White
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Michael Barnard
James Wade 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Jason Lowe 6-4 Stephen Burton
Gary Anderson 6-2 Keegan Brown
Scott Taylor 6-1 Steve West

Michael Van Gerwen 6-3 Jonny Clayton
James Wade 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Jason Lowe 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Scott Taylor 6-4 Gary Anderson

Michael Van Gerwen 6-4 James Wade
Scott Taylor 6-3 Jason Lowe

Michael Van Gerwen 6-4 Scott Taylor

Photography courtesy of Lawrence Lustig / PDC 

(Visited 46 times, 1 visits today)
darts planet tv

About The Author

Ben Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Play Fantasy Darts & You Could Win 2 X VIP Premier League TicketsPLAY 100% FREE
+ +