Veenstra victorious as De Graaf does Luxembourg double

Richard Veenstra and Aileen de Graaf triumphed in the Luxembourg Masters to complete a Dutch clean sweep of the weekend’s BDO singles events.

Veenstra followed in the footsteps of his compatriot Martijn Kleermaker by winning the men’s singles, beating fellow Dutchman Luc Peters in the final.

‘Flyers’ had been an early casualty in the Luxembourg Open but the top seed navigated the field with ease in Masters, seeing off Thibault Tricole, Jurrit van Essen and Cedric Taymans to set up a semi-final with Gary Stone.

East Stirlingshire’s Stone, playing in his second semi-final of the weekend, pushed Veenstra close but ultimately lost 5-4, whilst Peters saw off the Welshman Wayne Warren 5-2 in his semi.

Peters beat defending champion Mario Vandenbogaerde in the last 64 and acquitted himself well in his first BDO ranking final, leading 4-3 at one stage. However, the more experienced Veenstra won three of the last four legs to triumph 6-5 and win his third title of the year, averaging 86.67 in the process.

Kleermaker had been hoping to win both events for a second successive Category B double-header, but his bid was ended in the last 16 by Scott Waites.

Aileen de Graaf did successfully do the double though in the ladies event and once again had to see off English opposition in the final to do so.

After beat Kirsty Hutchinson 4-0 in the semis, De Graaf faced defending champion Deta Hedman in the final. Much like in the Open, the Dutchwoman won convincingly 5-2 with an 80.28 average.

The Boys Masters title also went to a Dutch thrower, with Pim van Bijnen emerging victorious.

The diminutive youngster, who beat Luxembourg Open Boys champion James Beeton in his opening game of the tournament, showed real class in the final to beat Belgium’s Maringo Junior Baes 4-2 with an average just shy of 76.

It was a case of different day, same result in the Girls Masters competition as Femke de Vuyst won her second title of the weekend.

The Belgian teenager once again whitewashed her opponent in the final, this time beating Nicole Bouaraba 3-0.

About The Author

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV