Wattimena and Rodriguez qualify for both Prague and Vienna

Rowby-John Rodriguez will appear in his home country at the Austrian Darts Championship later this year as he completed a European Tour qualification double alongside Jermaine Wattimena.

Friday evening saw 38 players compete for 6 places in both Vienna and at the first ever Czech Darts Open in Prague next week, with vital World Matchplay qualification also at stake. Vincent van der Voort needs a little more to seal his place in Blackpool, while Gabriel Clemens and Ron Meulenkamp are the two European players with the most realistic chance of sneaking into the field. Van der Voort failed to qualify for Prague, meaning he needs a few wins in the Players Championships events this weekend, while Clemens may have to win one after suffering the same fate.

Ron Meulenkamp will appear in the Czech Republic, however, and if he can reach the final session of action as he has done a couple of times before, he could find himself right in the mix for the Matchplay. He will be joined at the Czech Darts Open by Krzysztof Ratajski, Madars Razma and Danny Noppert. Ratajski was agonisingly close to doing the double but lost to Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 for the third time this year in qualifying.

Van den Bergh will make his first appearance on the Euro Tour for a little while in Vienna, where Christian Bunse, Van der Voort and Jeffrey de Zwaan will also appear. Elsewhere, Jelle Klaasen is still yet to qualify for a European Tour in 2019 despite being 4-1 up on Bunse and having the 10th highest overall average after 10 European Tour Card holder qualifiers. His place at the World Championship is hanging by a thread, while Benito van de Pas is also having a tough time of it, similarly out of luck in qualifiers despite signs of slight improvement.

Czech Darts Open (ET9)
European Tour Card Holders Qualifier
Final Matches

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Martin Schindler
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Jeffrey de Zwaan 3-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Madars Razma 6-2 Cristo Reyes
Danny Noppert 6-2 Ronny Huybrechts
Vincent van der Voort 2-6 Ron Meulenkamp

ETCH Qualifiers: Krzysztof Ratajski, Jermaine Wattimena, Rowby-John Rodriguez, Madars Razma, Danny Noppert, Ron Meulenkamp

Austrian Darts Championship (ET10)
European Tour Card Holders Qualifier
Final Matches

Krzysztof Ratajski 5-6 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 José de Sousa
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Toni Alcinas
Vincent van der Meer 0-6 Christian Bunse
Danny Noppert 4-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Cristo Reyes

ETCH Qualifiers: Dimitri Van den Bergh, Jermaine Wattimena, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Christian Bunse, Rowby-John Rodriguez, Vincent van der Voort


Jamie Cameron

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV