White and Suljović to kick off Masters as schedule confirmed

Ian White and Mensur Suljović will open the 2021 PDC season after the schedule for the new-look Masters was confirmed.

The field for the event has been expanded to 24 players this year, meaning eight best-of-11 matches will take place on the evening of Friday, 29 January before the second round on the Saturday, where the top eight come in.

The quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will be on Sunday, 31 January.

After that closely-matched contest between two former top ten players, Premier League champion Glen Durrant plays Mervyn King and two debutants clash in the match between Dimitri Van den Bergh and Chris Dobey.

Krzysztof Ratajski and Simon Whitlock meet in a repeat of their World Championship dual, while fifth on are Michael Smith and Adrian Lewis.

Daryl Gurney faces Jeffrey de Zwaan before Grand Slam champion José de Sousa takes on Jonny Clayton and Joe Cullen meets Stephen Bunting in an intriguing contest to round off the first round.

On the Saturday afternoon, James Wade and Dave Chisnall play their first matches as they look to force their way into the Premier League.

That precedes a blockbuster evening session with both World Championship finalists, Gerwyn Price and Gary Anderson, in action alongside Michael van Gerwen and Peter Wright.

Van Gerwen could come up against Clayton, the only man to beat him in the Masters in its last six stagings, while defending champion Wright is bracketed to face Ratajski or Whitlock.


Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes

Friday, January 29 (1900 GMT)
First Round x8
Ian White v Mensur Suljović
Glen Durrant v Mervyn King
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Chris Dobey
Krzysztof Ratajski v Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith v Adrian Lewis
Daryl Gurney v Jeffrey de Zwaan
José de Sousa v Jonny Clayton
Joe Cullen v Stephen Bunting

Saturday, January 30
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Second Round x4
Rob Cross v Durrant/King
James Wade v Van den Bergh/Dobey
Nathan Aspinall v White/Suljović
Dave Chisnall v Gurney/De Zwaan

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Second Round x4
Gary Anderson v Smith/Lewis
Peter Wright v Ratajski/Whitlock
Gerwyn Price v Cullen/Bunting
Michael van Gerwen v De Sousa/Clayton

Sunday, January 31
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)


Evening Session (1900 GMT)

First Round – Best of 11 legs
Second Round – Best of 19 legs
Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 legs
Semi-Finals – Best of 21 legs
Final – Best of 21 legs

Prize Fund
Winner – £60,000
Runner-Up – £25,000
Semi-Finalists – £17,500
Quarter-Finalists – £10,000
Second Round Losers – £5,000
First Round Losers – £2,500
Total – £220,000

(Featured Image: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

About The Author

Jamie Cameron @wwfcofficial and darts. Write for @the92blog and @TheMaximum180.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV