William Hill World Darts Championship Draw: Durrant faces potential De Sousa clash on debut

Glen Durrant will commence his debut William Hill World Darts Championship campaign against either Jose de Sousa or Damon Heta, while defending champion Michael van Gerwen faces a potential clash with Jelle Klaasen at Alexandra Palace in December.

Durrant and van Gerwen are two of three reigning senior world champions to take to the Alexandra Palace stage, between December 13 and January 1, as the hottest ticket in sport features 96 participants, competing for the £2.5m in prize money and the prestigious Sid Waddell Trophy.

The first round sees the ProTour’s top 32 take on 32 International Qualifiers – who have won through qualifying events held worldwide, with the winners taking on their allocated seeded star in round two.

The three-time champion, van Gerwen, will take on either Kevin Burness or Jelle Klaasen on the opening night at Alexandra Palace as he sets sights on defending the prestigious crown for the first time.

Raymond van Barneveld, who is set to bow out after his final World Championship appearance, will face a tough test in America’s Darin Young, with his fellow Dutchman Jeffrey de Zwaan awaiting the victor.

An in-form Gerwyn Price will open his bid against either William O’Connor or Finland’s Marko Kantele, while last year’s finalist Michael Smith faces either debutant Luke Woodhouse or 65-year-old Singaporean, Paul Lim.

Peter Wright, another former finalist, takes on the winner of Rowby-John Rodriguez or Noel Malicdem, while Rob Cross, who famously reigned victorious two years ago, marks his return in facing either Kim Huychechts or Dutch youngster Geert Nentjes.

Elsewhere, reigning women’s world champion Mikuru Suzuki starts out against James Richardson, as former women’s World Championship finalist Fallon Sherrock marks her debut with a potential clash against Mensur Suljovic, with Development Tour dominator Ted Evetts standing in the way of that.

Former back-to-back champion Gary Anderson will take on either India’s Nitin Kumar or Brendan Dolan – who has lifted two Players Championship titles during a resurgent time of late.

Two-time world champion Adrian Lewis faces a tricky test in either Asian Tour winner Lourence Ilagan or Spain’s Cristo Reyes, while Daryl Gurney takes on Justin Pipe or Slovenia’s Benjamin Pratnemer and James Wade faces Ritchie Edhouse or Boris Koltsov.

North American champion Danny Baggish and Andy Boulton lock horns for the right to face UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall, as Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion Krzysztof Ratajski goes head-to-head with the winner of Jamie Hughes and Zoran Lerchbacher.

The youngster competitor in the tournament, Keane Barry, 17, takes on Vincent van der Voort, with the winner having the joy of facing World Grand Prix runner-up Dave Chisnall.

2019/2020 William Hill World Darts Championship
Draw Bracket
Seeded Players Enter In Second Round

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Jelle Klaasen/Kevin Burness
(32) Ricky Evans v Mark McGeeney/Matt Campbell
(16) Jonny Clayton v Ryan Joyce/Jan Dekker
(17) Stephen Bunting v Arron Monk/Jose Justicia
(8) James Wade v Ritchie Edhouse/Boris Koltsov
(25) Steve Beaton v Kyle Anderson/Xiaochen Zong
(9) Ian White v Darius Labanauskas/Matthew Edgar
(24) Max Hopp v Gabriel Clemens/Benito van de Pas
(5) Gary Anderson v Brendan Dolan/Nitin Kumar
(28) Steve West v Ryan Searle/Robbie King
(12) Nathan Aspinall v Andy Boulton/Danny Baggish
(21) Krzysztof Ratajski v Jamie Hughes/Zoran Lerchbacher
(4) Michael Smith v Luke Woodhouse/Paul Lim
(29) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Josh Payne/Diogo Portela
(13) Adrian Lewis v Cristo Reyes/Lourence Ilagan
(20) Darren Webster v Ryan Meikle/Yuki Yamada
(2) Rob Cross v Kim Huybrechts/Geert Nentjes
(31) Danny Noppert v Steve Lennon/Callan Rydz
(15) Joe Cullen v James Wilson/Nico Kurz
(18) Jermaine Wattimena v Luke Humphries/Devon Petersen
(7) Peter Wright v Rowby-John Rodriguez/Noel Malicdem
(26) Keegan Brown v Mickey Mansell/Seigo Asada
(10) Dave Chisnall v Vincent van der Voort/Keane Barry
(23) Jeffrey de Zwaan v Raymond van Barneveld/Darin Young
(6) Daryl Gurney v Justin Pipe/Benjamin Pratnemer
(27) Glen Durrant v Jose De Sousa/Damon Heta
(11) Mensur Suljovic v Ted Evetts/Fallon Sherrock
(22) Chris Dobey v Ron Meulenkamp/Ben Robb
(3) Gerwyn Price v William O’Connor/Marko Kantele
(30) John Henderson v James Richardson/Mikuru Suzuki
(14) Simon Whitlock v Harry Ward/Madars Razma
(19) Mervyn King v Ross Smith/Ciaran Teehan

First Round
Jelle Klaasen v Kevin Burness
Mark McGeeney v Matt Campbell
Ryan Joyce v Jan Dekker
Arron Monk v Jose Justicia
Ritchie Edhouse v Boris Koltsov
Kyle Anderson v Xiaochen Zong
Darius Labanauskas v Matthew Edgar
Gabriel Clemens v Benito van de Pas
Brendan Dolan v Nitin Kumar
Ryan Searle v Robbie King
Andy Boulton v Danny Baggish
Jamie Hughes v Zoran Lerchbacher
Luke Woodhouse v Paul Lim
Josh Payne v Diogo Portela
Cristo Reyes v Lourence Ilagan
Ryan Meikle v Yuki Yamada
Kim Huybrechts v Geert Nentjes
Steve Lennon v Callan Rydz
James Wilson v Nico Kurz
Luke Humphries v Devon Petersen
Rowby-John Rodriguez v Noel Malicdem
Mickey Mansell v Seigo Asada
Vincent van der Voort v Keane Barry
Raymond van Barneveld v Darin Young
Justin Pipe v Benjamin Pratnemer
Jose De Sousa v Damon Heta
Ted Evetts v Fallon Sherrock
Ron Meulenkamp v Ben Robb
William O’Connor v Marko Kantele
James Richardson v Mikuru Suzuki
Harry Ward v Madars Razma
Ross Smith v Ciaran Teehan

The anticipated schedule will be confirmed at a later date.

Photography: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in


Darts Planet TV