World Cup of Darts: Draw and teams revealed as defending champions Scotland face Japan

The draw and teams have been revealed ahead of the upcoming World Cup of Darts in Austria, with defending champions Scotland facing a tough prospect in Japan.

In what was a semi-final clash last year, the two nations go head-to-head once more, despite both making changes to their pairs based on last time around.

John Henderson will make his World Cup of Darts debut for Scotland, joining Robert Thornton, while Seigo Asada and his good friend Yuki Yamada line up for Japan.

Both Gary Anderson and Peter Wright, who lifted their maiden title last year, withdrew from the Scottish side due to concerns of flying to Austria in the midst of a global pandemic.

Meanwhile, England also face a tough Asian country in the Philippines. Michael Smith and Rob Cross are set to face Lourence Ilagan and Noel Malicdem for the second successive year.

Last year’s finalists William O’Connor and Steve Lennon of Ireland take on an enticing Australian duo of Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta as they hope for further success as a pair.

Michael van Gerwen plays alongside fellow Dutchman Danny Noppert for the first time, as they face Diogo Portela and Bruno Rangel’s Brazil.

Host nation Austria, consisting of Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez, take on the USA, while Max Hopp and Gabriel Clemens’ Germany face Finland.

The 32-nation tournament will take place from November 6-8 at the Salzburgarena in Salzburg, with the Sky Sports and other international providers broadcasting the action.


Draw Bracket
(1) England v Philippines
Lithuania v Gibraltar
(8) Austria v USA
Singapore v Hungary
(4) Northern Ireland v Canada
New Zealand v Denmark
(5) Belgium v Czech Republic
Hong Kong v China
(2) Wales v Russia
Japan v Scotland
(7) Republic of Ireland v Australia
Poland v South Africa
(3) Netherlands v Brazil
Italy v Spain
(6) Germany v Finland
Sweden v Greece

Competing Nations and Players (seeding in brackets)
(1) England – Michael Smith and Rob Cross
(2) Wales – Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton
(3) Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen and Danny Noppert
(4) Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan
(5) Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts
(6) Germany – Max Hopp and Gabriel Clemens
(7) Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor and Steve Lennon
(8) Austria – Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez
Australia – Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta
Brazil – Diogo Portela and Bruno Rangel
Canada – Jeff Smith and Matt Campbell
China – Xicheng Han and Di Zhuang
Czech Republic – Karel Sedlacek and Adam Gawlas
Denmark – Niels Heinsøe and Per Laursen
Finland – Marko Kantele and Veijo Viinikka
Gibraltar – Craig Galliano and Justin Hewitt
Greece – John Michael and Veniamin Symeonidis
Hong Kong – Kai Fan Leung and Royden Lam
Hungary – Patrik Kovacs and Janos Vegsö
Italy – Andrea Micheletti and Daniele Petri
Japan – Seigo Asada and Yuki Yamada
Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas and Mindaugas Barauskas
New Zealand – Cody Harris and Haupai Puha
Philippines – Lourence Ilagan and Noel Malicdem
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski and Krzysztof Kciuk
Russia – Boris Koltsov and Aleksei Kadochnikov
Scotland – John Henderson and Robert Thornton
Singapore – Paul Lim and Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen and Carl Gabriel
Spain – Cristo Reyes and Toni Alcinas
Sweden – Daniel Larsson and Dennis Nilsson
USA – Chuck Puleo and Danny Lauby

(Featured Image: PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in

Comment (1)


Darts Planet TV