World Grand Prix Race: King moves into provisional places as cut-off edges closer

Mervyn King provisionally moved into the qualification places for the upcoming World Grand Prix as the race to Coventry edges towards its culmination.

King, who endured a final defeat at the hands of Michael van Gerwen eight years ago in Dublin, crucially overcame Steffen Siepmann in the German Darts Championship to move into the ProTour Order of Merit qualifiers.

The former World Masters champion will as it stands make his 14th consecutive World Grand Prix appearance next weekend at Coventry’s Ricoh Arena.

King’s emphatic victory over Germany’s Siepmann meant Latvian Madars Razma would drop out of the all-important top 16 after his exploits at the recent Autumn Series.

Former World Matchplay semi-finalist Jeffrey de Zwaan’s hopes now hang by a thread, with a chasing pack of numerous hopefuls hard on his heels.

Welshman Jonny Clayton could surpass the Dutchman with a win over Chris Dobey – who also has something to play for in the race to Coventry.

Dobey, a semi-finalist last year in Dublin, is relatively safe in the ProTour side of proceedings, but could break into the seedings ahead of the unique double-start tournament.

If Dobey were to defeat Clayton and proceed to lift the trophy on Sunday evening, the Bedlington man would leapfrog Adrian Lewis and therefore end the two-time world champion’s chances of appearing in Coventry.

Clayton could also move above Lewis if he were to go all the way and claim a second European Tour title on Sunday evening.

It would be second successive Grand Prix appearance for Dobey (Photography: Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics)

Elsewhere, Irish World Cup of Darts stars William O’Connor and Steve Lennon kept their slim hopes alive with victories over Daniel Larsson and Boris Koltsov respectively.

O’Connor and Lennon need to reach the final on German soil to move into the spaces, as does two-time BDO world champion Scott Waites on his European Tour debut.

Canadian Jeff Smith needs to reach the quarter-finals in Hildesheim after denying fellow debutant Franz Roetzch in a deciding leg thriller.

Max Hopp, Adam Hunt and Richard North need to reign victorious on Sunday evening to have any chance of featuring in the double-start tournament.

Host Nation qualifiers Nico Kurz, Lukas Wenig and Dragutin Horvat could also rocket into the qualification places if they were to unexpectedly scoop the £25,000 winner’s cheque.

The German Darts Championship continues on Saturday with the second round, before the third round takes place on Sunday afternoon followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session.


Correct as of Saturday, September 26 ahead of the second round of the German Darts Championship

PDC Order of Merit
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,527,000
2 Peter Wright £911,500
3 Gerwyn Price £805,500
4 Michael Smith £557,500
5 Rob Cross £543,000
6 Nathan Aspinall £483,750
7 Daryl Gurney £443,250
8 James Wade £427,750
9 Gary Anderson £388,250
10 Dave Chisnall £370,250
11 Dimitri Van den Bergh £339,250
12 Ian White £332,250
13 Glen Durrant £303,250
14 Krzysztof Ratajski £282,500
15 Mensur Suljovic £279,500
16 Adrian Lewis £249,750
18 Chris Dobey £228,500

PDC ProTour Order of Merit
1 Danny Noppert £37,750
2 Jose de Sousa £36,000
3 Brendan Dolan £31,500
4 Joe Cullen £25,250
5 Devon Petersen £25,000
6 Ryan Searle £23,500
7 Jermaine Wattimena £23,500
8 Gabriel Clemens £22,500
9 Stephen Bunting £21,250
10 Ryan Joyce £21,000
11 Jamie Hughes £20,000
12 Dirk van Duijvenbode £19,000
13 Chris Dobey £18,500
14 Kim Huybrechts £17,750
15 Mervyn King £17,500
16 Jeffrey de Zwaan £17,500
20 Jonny Clayton £16,500
25 Jeff Smith £14,500
29 Steve Lennon £13,500
35 William O’Connor £11,250
40 Scott Waites £9,500
46 Max Hopp £8,500
49 Adam Hunt £8,000
67 Richard North £7,000
112 Dragutin Horvat £2,000
113 Lukas Wenig £2,000
114 Nico Kurz £2,000

Please note only players still involved in the ongoing German Darts Championship are listed outside the qualifying spots.

Players included in the PDC Order of Merit top 16 are are not included in the ProTour Order of Merit listings.

Click here for full World Grand Prix qualification tables via

(Featured Image: PDC Europe)

About The Author

Ben Hudd Ben is a dedicated sports writer and aspiring sports journalist, covering all aspects of darts for the ever-growing Darts Planet TV. He has a passion for sport, particularly darts, cricket and football.

You might be interested in

Comment (1)


Darts Planet TV